Music Madness-Guitars and Greatness


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
June 27th 2014
Published: July 9th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So, I was riding the subway, U Bahn more accurately, home from somewhere with Jimmy the Aussie and we strike up a conversation with a true Berliner on the train. He tells me that next weekend is a music festival called Fete de la Musique. He goes on to say that Fete de la Musique has klein and gross venues all over the city with every type of music imaginable. Cool I think, something to do next weekend. Well, the next day I ride the s Bahn with Billy Goodman and his 1964 guitar to Spandea in the rain. He plays for the first time in his life on the train and he is quite good, a sort of blue grass sound. All the people on the train clap. Of course, I love carrying the guitar around and some people think I am the musician. I see how you can get guys or babes if you are a musician: very powerful. It’s too bad I am tone deaf. Spandau is quaint with streets with no cars and we make our way to the Irish Pub with my keen sense of direction and map app on the phone in the pouring rain. I highly recommend a visit to Spandau for a day venture. Lots of people say to go to Potsdam, but Sapndau is only an hour on the train and is a village. The venue is outside with a tent and 2 other musicians who are having some electrical problems. It is beautiful because it is so green and lush and my wet shoes and socks seem like a vague memory. Billy helps them get set up. After he plays for an hour. The music is great and I really enjoy the music, the venue, the friendly people, including the playful daughter of the first musician. Billy’s music can be found on Facebook: search Billy Goodman. He gives me two CD’s that his number 1 groupie made for him. We go to an Italian restaurant with the number 1 groupie and his wife (the number 1 groupie films all of Billy’s shows). Of course, the World Cup is on in the restaurant. After dinner and the hot espresso, we make our way back to the train station for the less than an hour ride back to Berlin. Also of note are that part of the town of Spandea has walk able only streets-one of my favs. Also, the people were friendlier than in Berlin. Two random people struck up a conversation with me and asked me where I was from and told me about their trips to America. Also, Spandea is less touristy than Leipzig.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb