Food of my people


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
August 23rd 2006
Published: August 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Last day in Berlin, we decided to visit Potsdam - quaint place where everything is at least 150 years old. The train there passed by many small towns which satisfied our notions of cute European towns. As we reached closer to Potsdam, we were rather surprised by the signs of poverty - in fact it did remind me a little of kerala, my hometown, complete with the one-off symbols of the communist party.

The sansouci palace was a luxurious one in surprisingly good taste and had beautiful grounds and I got to see my first European gargoyle. As was par for the trip so far, we had a great tour guide, who could spout poetry in many different languages.

After getting back, we finaly tackled a restaurant that I had looked forward to ever since we landed in Berlin - Chandra Kumari, a Sri Lankan restaurant that served Appam, the food of my people😊 and potato stew - I can attest to the greatness of the food and strongly advise all my dear blog readers to make it a definite part of any trip to Berlin. A good time was had by all. Berlin completely surprised me by the number and variety of ethnic restaurants - I could spend a few months here just exploring the food.

After that it was time to pack up since we were leaving the next morning. We had a fabulous time in the city and so much of that due to the great time we had staying with Sathish's parents. If you havenĀ“t visited yet, tarry not (hint hint, Rajesh and Priya) And there is nothing that gives you a head start on your day in a far flung city like a breakfast of rava idly and tomato chutney😊



Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0417s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb