cake always helps


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 13th 2006
Published: July 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

just want to report that a couple of hours of lying in my apartment doing nothing, a piece of strawberry cake and a cup of coffee, and a lecture on the weimar republic have done much to restore my spirits. perhaps broadcasting my frustrations to the world on this blog helped as well--i feel as though perhaps the slump i've been in the last few days is lifting...

Advertisement



17th July 2006

Fur die Fraulein mit die Blumen
Syd, I just got to log on to your Blog here. and saw you were a bit down from all the last two weeks had to offer...sorry to hear that and note that you've again discovered the power of Kuchen and Kaffee! Its tough to do what you're doing. I think I used to remind myself that I had a great opportunity being in College or in Germany to and so reminded myself and so pushed myself a little bit, but I expected some down times when I was in Germany or College. I think the Germans called it Auslandermuedikeit, when refereing to foreign culture and foreigners would seem to overwhelm their country. Perhaps you have a reverse bit of the same? Just as you did, by staying home in your "room with a view" and rested you exploring mind... Pace your self! You can do everything and even fly, but even birds have to sleep! A funny German mistake I made was to complement by very nice neighbor in Munich. I said that Sie war sehr Selten...I meant to say she was Very "rare" and nice to me. I think I accidentally used the word Seltsam, which meant "peculiar". Her look said that I had said something wrong, so I had to run up to her later with my book and show how similar the words are and to reexplain what I meant... Selten, seltsam I can't recall for sure which is which, although I think I had it right above. I hope to poke around your blog as I get the chance. Best to you and much love,
17th July 2006

A Nap and some Cake...
Hey Syd, Just got your link to the blog and read all the entires. It really takes be back to when I was in Germany. You describe the jetlag perfectly. I have always found it to be disorienting to be somewhere new especially if I am alone. It is a wierd mix of excitement to see new things and a wish for something familiar. Nothing that cake and a nap can't help. I look forward to reading more. Enjoy my dear!! Can't wait to see pictures. Much Love and Hugs, BJ

Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb