Our Day in Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 4th 2012
Published: July 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

For our one and only real day in Berlin we decided to get up early. After a quick breakfast in our hotel room we were off. We walked down Kurfürstendamm Straße, a large shopping street. When we reached near the end we got onto the U-bahn (underground) and went to Potsdamer Platz.

We walked to the Jewish memorial and went down into the exhibit. It was gruesome and horrible but also quite interesting. I didn't realize that the Nazi's originally put Jews in the back of sealed trucks and vented the carbon monoxide into the back to kill them. After that morbid display it was nice to get back into the sunshine and we walked to the Brandenburg Tor.

We then started walking towards Alexanderplatz but we didn't realize how far it was so we stopped to have lunch halfway there. After lunch we continued on and finally made it there.

Our next stop was to Checkpoint Charlie. We went into the museum there and it was interesting because there were so many different stories, escape attempts, plots, rescues etc. There was not enough time to read them all.

We stopped back at the Zoologischer Garten train station (that is the one near our hotel) and had a snack and asked about catching a train to Bremen tomorrow. The lady there told us that we would have to go to the Hauptbahnhof to catch the train tomorrow. Then my bag broke! I was standing at the counter saying 'danke' and the strap of my purse ripped completely.

We, well I, decided that we should go back to the hotel. One there I pulled everything out of my purse and placed all of the esentials into the fold up grocery bag that I broght with me. Sydony and a nap and I read my book for a bit before we headed out again. This time we went to the Hauptbahnhof and got our EurRail pass activated and a reservation for two first class tickets on a train to Bremen tomorrow. We stopped at a grocery store and picked up a few things for dinner and breakfast tomorrow. There was a bag shop that we passed on the way back to the room so we stopped there and I got a new bag. We had a nice dinner in the room. I have filled my new bag with all the important things one might need, hopefully this one will last a little longer than the last one!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.241s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0716s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb