For those in need of a light-hearted read


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
April 10th 2006
Published: April 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

the cornerstonethe cornerstonethe cornerstone

things like this make me happy in my career choice
The next stop on our spring break adventure was Berlin. The great part about german cities is that they're all little monuments to how badly we beat their ass back in the day. Good news for them though, we cleared out plenty of room for 'em to build some great modern architecture. So, Berlin turned into our version of being responsible architecture students. We fulfilled this agreement to ourselves thoroughly I must say. I'm not sure I've drank less in any two other consecutive days than the ones spent in Berlin. That's not to say we didn't have a blast. To the contrary, the adreneline frenzy that the uber-dorky architecture half of my brain was blasted into had me runnin' circles. I didn't even sleep. Anyway, I'm all excited about it again just talking about it so I'm going to bore the hell out of you with some long drawn out descriptions about interlocking spaces and formal articulation of urban space and its dialogue with residual spaces. Or maybe I'll just let you take my word for it. These are very beautiful and significant pieces of modern architecture that I treasure deeply and was blessed to be able to experience in person. Off of that though. We did do some things that weren't entirely architecture related. We went and saw the Blue Man Group at Potsdammer Platz. I even got picked out of the crowd to shut the power off. It was a really cool show...especially for a musician. We finally went and played some pool at the bar across the street from our room. Anything that makes you feel like you're home is nice on occasion. I'll let the photo subscripts tell you about the pictures otherwise I fear I might be swept away by the sputtering of architectural jargon (doublespeak).


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Good job Renzo PianoGood job Renzo Piano
Good job Renzo Piano

you've been awarded the ""The Trey" seal of approval"
the sony centerthe sony center
the sony center

we saw Sharon Stone here
AuditoriumAuditorium
Auditorium

betcha can't guess who we saw here
Jewish museumJewish museum
Jewish museum

daniel liebeskind...just thought some may have heard the name
Jewish museumJewish museum
Jewish museum

a bit of contrast
Jewish museumJewish museum
Jewish museum

down the hallway
Jewish museumJewish museum
Jewish museum

describe in one word how this window is different than most...
Jewish museumJewish museum
Jewish museum

the stairway
Jewish museumJewish museum
Jewish museum

the writing is on the wall
Jewish museumJewish museum
Jewish museum

makes you just want to fall over doesn't it
GSW HeadquartersGSW Headquarters
GSW Headquarters

this one goes out to Chuck
Brandenburg GateBrandenburg Gate
Brandenburg Gate

wait this isn't modern!
Jewish MemorialJewish Memorial
Jewish Memorial

Peter Eisenman
Jewish MemorialJewish Memorial
Jewish Memorial

down the street
The wall and usThe wall and us
The wall and us

now I have to keep these shoes forever
Blue man and IBlue man and I
Blue man and I

I'm the one who's not blue


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1002s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb