A secondhand, free guided tour of Berlin... and some random happenings.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
October 6th 2009
Published: October 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

As I mentioned in another post, I went on the most excellent free tour of Berlin. FREE! Sure, the guide plugged some of the other pay-for-em tours the company offers, but it was at a minimum. So, for nearly 4 hours we walked all over the center, most touristy parts of the city. I will say more as I post the pictures because right now all I can think about is the snow I'm watching fall as I sit here in Warsaw... and how I know that at some point today I will wish I put that second application of waterproofing on my shoes...


Additional photos below
Photos: 56, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Ah, the ampelmannAh, the ampelmann
Ah, the ampelmann

Some might say this is the best thing East Berlin had going...
Reichstag buildingReichstag building
Reichstag building

The history, if you want: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Reichstag_%28building%29
Holocaust MemorialHolocaust Memorial
Holocaust Memorial

As you walk through, the ground is uneven and the blocks get taller and taller...
Holocaust MemorialHolocaust Memorial
Holocaust Memorial

This gives the feeling of being disoriented and small
Holocaust MemorialHolocaust Memorial
Holocaust Memorial

Maria, our guide, told us that the memorial cost 27 million Euros to build...
Memorial to NobodyMemorial to Nobody
Memorial to Nobody

She was proud to report that this ugly chuck of land, over the former bunker where Hitler and Eva Braun committed suicide on April 30, 1945.


Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb