That's a Wrap!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 24th 2009
Published: July 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

All good things come to end, alas. Yesterday was the final day of the seminar that brought me to Germany this summer. For the past four weeks, my fellow teachers and I wrestled with the history and philosophy of the peaceful revolutions that swept East-Central Europe in 1989 - and had a blast!

We made the most of our final couple days in Leipzig, exploring the history and culture of the area, eating and drinking well (Vietnamese, anyone?), going for long walks across the city and through the Clara Zetkin Park, and, without saying it explictly, beginning the process of saying goodbye. Spending a month together is a significant thing. As I noted to my roommate, we'd spent 1/12 of 2009 sleeping in the same room! So it was not surprising to feel the early pangs of group separation while in Leipzig.

Then yesterday, when we returned to Berlin (first class!...me?) for our final session and farewell dinner in Friedrichshain, reality truly hit. As the evening progressed, individuals, pairs, trios began peeling away to prepare for early flights/trains. The group went through cycles of goodbyes - and I hate goodbyes. At least, I am confident than many of us will stay in touch.

Live in truth!

***

But as one chapter ends, another begins for me. Tomorrow, I venture forth on my own, to begin a sweep through the Czech Republic, Hungary, Austria, Switzerland, and finally France. Some of this travel is to supplement what I have learned in Berlin (Prague, Budapest), some to indulge my Ottoman interests (Hungary, the "gates" of Vienna), and some to visit good friends (Austria, Switzerland, France). I will do my best to post along the way!



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



25th July 2009

Hurray
Congrats on a summer well-spent. I've enjoyed keeping track of you on this. And am slightly jealous. Travel safe and have fun as you head out across Europe! We miss you back here in DC>
25th July 2009

Awww, shucks!
Hey James, I miss ya already! That was a nice ending blog to an incredible four weeks. I know we'll keep in touch... where else am I gonna stay when in D.C.? (When Sarah doesn't answer her door...) Prague is interesting thus far, but it's not the same without the gang. See you soon! --T
26th July 2009

Wrap Ends
James- Nicely done! It was a great seminar!! I look forward to hearing about the rest of your travels! Wishing you a safe journey!! T.Cook

Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb