Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
May 14th 2009
Published: June 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Day 14-16 (May 16-18)



It was a 6 hour journey by train to Berlin, and then a quick metro to our guest house in the Charlottenburg area. The train was full of local soccer fans with the local Berlin team needing to win for position in the finals. It was a cheery ride, with the fans wanting us to join in the singing. We also passed a massive protest on the way, which looked like a response to the global economic crisis.

Our booking seemed to have gone astray but was quickly sorted with us staying in the hotel that was the 4th floor of a large building with private apartments underneath. We headed straight out catching a bus to the zoo station, and another bus that took us on the scenic route to the Parliament building (Bundestag).

We joined the queue, which we were warned was going to be quite a wait, but that the view and structure inside would be worth it. Leaving three people to stand in the queue some of us headed off to get coffees and some snacks. We found a booth selling Bratwurst and Currywurst and chose the former not realising that
Inside the dome on top of the German ParliamentInside the dome on top of the German ParliamentInside the dome on top of the German Parliament

The parliament seats are below this cone
Currywurst was a local speciality. The Bratwurst was great, however, so much better than a hotdog.

Finally, the queue moved and we went through security and were on our way to the roof and the amazing dome structure on top. There was a display detailing the history of the building and government in Berlin, including the fire that largely destroyed it. The dome itself was an impressive construction.

As it was our final night we lent to a local pub for dinner and another set of farewells.

The following morning I thought I’d walk to my new hotel so I knew how far it was before having to carry my things. It was good that I tried as I had written the address down incorrectly, and could not find it. I did get to see a lot of different streets but eventually returned defeated. I headed off to an internet café to check the address and I still don’t know how I got the address I’d written down as it was completely different.

A few more last minute goodbyes were said as I left my luggage in storage and headed out to explore some more of Berlin. The Brandenburg gate, the last piece of the wall remaining, and checkpoint Charlie. The Topography of Terror was being renovated and so had been moved to an outdoor display, which was unfortunate as this had been something that I’d read about many years ago (next time).

I transferred to my new hotel, which was also in a converted building and close to the Zoo Station making it an easy transfer for my next trip. Internet access was on the TV (very cumbersome) or in the lobby. I still needed to book accommodation in Vienna so spent some hours again on the internet and then headed out to buy my train ticket as well (organising for yourself takes so much time).

The people at the station counter did not speak English (and it didn’t help that I hadn’t noticed the machine to take a number) so I found an information booth where a lady spoke a little English. All was looking good until I saw a print out of the route which had four changes and ended in a place called Jenna not Vienna. I tried to explain Vienna and Wien and she finally understood and laughed at my accent and started again. From there I went back to where I’d been earlier, took a ticket for the queue, and when called gave the person the route that the information lady had printed out for me. At last, a train ticket albeit 2nd class and no seat reservation.

On to the supermarket under the station for supplies to make my own dinner, it is always good to have a break from restaurant/café fare. Salads and yoghurt being the order of the day. I took the bus from the station into Alexanderplatz and did some shopping to replace some of my winter clothes with cooler items. The local department store had sales on for the items I needed and a large selection, so feeling rather pleased with myself I wandered back via the main street, passing some impressive buildings along the way. I had a late lunch of currywurst, which was sliced (almost) sausage smothered in tomato sauce and sprinkled with curry powder. I decided that I prefer the bratwurst!

Feeling brave after my successful shopping venture, I located a hairdresser and negotiated in simple English to finally have a hair cut and colour. All went smoothly until the end when I was confused when asked if she would dry my hair or I would? An interesting question, that left us both perplexed. I opted finally to get her to do it (being someone who doesn’t own a hair drier I thought that the safer option).

After a fairly productive day, I met up with my previous (and next) group leader for dinner, as she was also spending the extra time in Berlin before going to Vienna for our next trip.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Kaiser Wilhelm MemorialKaiser Wilhelm Memorial
Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial

A very stark reminder of the war
Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial at nightKaiser Wilhelm Memorial at night
Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial at night

There are some rather ugly buildings that are used by the church, a little prettier at night...The memorial would be better without the boxes I think.


19th July 2009

Hi from Di
How brave are you getting your hair cut , coloured and blow dried!
19th July 2009

Berlin...
We found Berlin really fascinating when we were there. The painful past of the city is all around you, I felt an almost eerie sense of it at times. It felt like an emotional place too...visiting Checkpoint Charlie was a very sobering experience. When we visited, the wall had only gone down about 10 years earlier, and it was such a feeling of disbelief about the horrible and recent history in a city we were now walking about so freely. We also visited The Brandenburg Gate, The Berliner Dome, Zoo Station...for Terry, and the Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial, also a stark reminder of the history of the city. When we left Berlin we breathed a big sigh of relief, I particularly found it quite emotionally disturbing, and it made me so grateful for my freedom and the relatively safe world that we live in Down Under. X Keri

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0629s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb