Berlin=Construction


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
August 10th 2008
Published: August 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Cool ViewCool ViewCool View

View down a German street...I told you it was overcast!

Hello all,



So we're still in Berlin, which is such an awesome city! While the exchange rate with the US $ kind of sucks, Germany is actually less expensive than other European countries...still pricey though. Much of the city is under construction, including the bridge outside of our hostel, which makes getting to and from the hostel... interesting. On the walking tour I took yesterday the construction throughout the city was also clearly visible, remnants of not only WWII, but the hard economic times the country has faced ever since then.

As I said earlier, its been gloomy and overcast all day, which was actually kind of fitting because we ended up visiting a concentration camp, Sachsenhausen, which is the closest concentration camp to Berlin. After an hour long local train ride, and then a very crowded bus ride, we arrived at the camp. When we first got there, all we could really see was a gray wall, and the main information center. The camp was hidden very well, and could not be immediately seen from the road. Seeing the camp itself is truly an indescribable experience. Its the first concentration camp I've ever been too, and it was
German ApartmentsGerman ApartmentsGerman Apartments

I want a cute German apartment with a flower box!
strange. It feels very weird to walk around somewhere where so many people died, and so much suffering occurred! I couldn't bring myself to take pictures...it felt wrong somehow.
Anyway, I'll stop depressing you with talk about the concentration camp, and while I don't think I can handle going to another one, ever, I think its an experience that everyone should have at least once.

For dinner we went to a local German restaurant, where most of us had potato soup (poor college student budget!) which was delicious and yes Via, we got our good German beer. The first round he brought was a light beer, which is what most of us had, though my second glass was a very, very good dark beer. (Don't ask the others about it, they'll tell you it was gross, but it was actually very good!).

That about sums up the day. Tomorrow the others are going on the walking tour in the morning, so I'll be wandering around touristy locations where I can get away with pointing and no German...yay!


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Public Library in BerlinPublic Library in Berlin
Public Library in Berlin

Yay books! I will always be happy no matter where I am as long as I can find books!
Post Boxes in GermanyPost Boxes in Germany
Post Boxes in Germany

I sent lots and lots of postcards, so those of you whose addresses I have should be getting them!
BikesBikes
Bikes

All Europeans love their bikes...maybe someday I'll figure out how to ride one!
Department StoreDepartment Store
Department Store

Yay shopping! This is where I bought my camera cord so that I could subject you all to my random pictures. Be thankful that I'm not posting them all!
Clock towerClock tower
Clock tower

The clock tower from the red town hall in Berlin.
Iron DoorIron Door
Iron Door

The outside iron doors for the cathedral near the red town hall. Its pretty famous, and has a name, but I'm blanking on what it is at the moment.
MosaicMosaic
Mosaic

Mosaic demo inside a cathedral in Berlin near the red town hall.
Church RemainsChurch Remains
Church Remains

I found the remains of this random church during my wanderings around Berlin. It was pretty sweet.
PietaPieta
Pieta

A pieta outside the remains of a random church.
Smoke TowersSmoke Towers
Smoke Towers

This looked soviet-ish to me...
Church YardChurch Yard
Church Yard

So there was this random church yard in the middle of what looked like an office building, and I'm pretty sure this is an above ground grave...slightly creepy, I know.
R.I.P.R.I.P.
R.I.P.

I think this is the tombstone...


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0594s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb