The eagle has landed


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 30th 2008
Published: July 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Morning all,
this is an unusually self-promoting thing for me to do; blogs I always thought are for people in need of an ego boost or for compulsive liars because they usually have nothing to talk about. However here I find myself sitting in the creativly titled 'Hotel Berlin' divulging the details of my life to all and sundree. Well I suppose I better be entertaining.
The flight was like Clinton Morrison in his blues heyday; just late so we missed our chance to catch Berlin pre-11pm but hey I've been pretty impressed at how big the place is and also how decent the transport over here was. INSERT GERMAN EFFECIENCY STEREOTYPE HERE. Whilst the transport was decent over the seats were like a Dale Winton wet dream unfortuantly, bright pink and with mid 90's styled crazyness all over them. However I did find the words CSI scraped into the window, which I thought was our first referance to American culture, or our introduction to the CSI drug trafficking gang of Berlin, either way someone has taken time out of their day to scribe this in with a sharp instrument so I took a few moments to at least appreciate this clearly underappreciated artist.
We followed up our wonderful trip on the S-Bahn (where we changed over trainlines by just going down one stairs and up another set, Britians railways take note) with an even more wonderful orienteering trip round the streets of Berlin. However this wasn't quite like any orienteering I'd done before. This didn't include lots of pre-pubscent boys in Green woodcraft folk tops running round forests shouting 'no its that tree!' nor did it involve all the powerdered milk of a trip to Snowdon. Instead this was more urban orienteering and with the wheels on our suitcase providing the loudest noise in Berlin since Hertha Berlin last actually won something we also had the moral support of the locals of Wilmersdorf Berlin. After going down Rudolphstrate strasse for what seemed like an enternity we finally settled down here at the Hotel Berlin ready for our first day traverssing the powderless milked streets of Berlin. Emmas in bed, probably sleeping or cursing the sudden rise in Knife Crime in here arm, and I'm too hot to sleep but hey I must say I'm looking forward to Legoland Berlin tomorrow. If they have the lego food like the Simpsons prophicised then I'll be as content as I was when I finally saw a toilet coming off that plane.

Anyway enough of us you're probably longing for your cups of tea and fish 'n chips guvnor.
Auf wiedersehn!

Advertisement



30th July 2008

Confused... clinton morrison?! :S
one question... who's clinton morrison??? Hope you're not terrifying the neighbours... hows the weather? Can i have a dunces version please? anyway im cleaning, just thought i'd pop on for bit.
30th July 2008

Hey
Weathers about 30°c but its been cloudy so we've not had to cover up or suntan lotion up. Clinton Morrissons a footballer who never scored, hope you get the pun now lol hows things at your end. Skeggy any good yet? lol Hope to message you back in poland next (see new post) Emma and Mark
30th July 2008

the ginger bod said youd like Berlin !
30th July 2008

i thought everyone knew clinton morrison. Barry 4 Villa
31st July 2008

RE: Skeggy
Skeg was kool, very very hot. probably one of the few times it actually does get hot there lol. oh! i see! lol.... i'm not very quick you know... takes me a while! 30 degrees eh, i wish! i am swealtering at home, got the fan on and being attacked by minute flies and moths. they won't leave me alone!!!!!! poland. yes, i saw the post, very good idea. anyway toodles, 'see' you in poland!

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb