Fun in Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
January 8th 2008
Published: January 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After very little sleep but watching tons of free in flight movies, we arrived in Berlin with the only disappointment being that our peanut butter was taken away by the strict Deutsch authorities (since when is peanut butter a "gel?").

However, we were very pleased and impressed with the remainder of our time in Berlin. While there, Kirstin and I visited the Rechtstag, Potzdamer Platz, Unter der Linden, the remaining 1 mile of the Berlin Wall, and traveled to 2 newly gentrified neighborhoods in East Berlin, that had lots of cobblestone streets and neat restaurants.

My favorite highlight was seeing a famous Rembrandt painting entitled "The Mennonite Preacher" in the national art gallery. I wondered why this painting is not in more Mennonite homes. Meanwhile, Kirstin enjoyed staying in a hostel that was located right off Martin Luther Strasse (street auf Deutsch).

The next planned destination was Munich, but Germans don't like last-minute plans as they increased the ticket price by 30 euros a ticket. So, we decided to instead go to Prague.

Hopefully, I will soon get over my cold that I got from our notorious roommate I nicknamed "Snorey McGee." She could challenge my father in a snoring contest!

It's now our second night in Prague. More on this city (and maybe some pictures) from Munich (hopefully...).

-Daron

Advertisement



9th January 2008

Pics
I want to see pictures of your cute faces!!!

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0893s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb