Let Them Eat Cake!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Berlin » Berlin
July 20th 2005
Published: July 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Now I know why Louie 14th was the so called Sun King. Sunday was the only day left to visit Versailles. Jenee and Paul wanted to check out the Paris flea market prior to heading to the Palace. Turns out they hated the flea market. By the time they returned there was little time to even get to Versailles let alone tour it. I'd waited for Paul from Berlin to visit the castle figuring this would be a highlight to share. When we got to the palace it was crowded and extremely hot. Paul saw the queue and decided he wasnt really interested. Jenee and I had Museum passes so we could go right in. But Jenee said she wasn't interested either! I couldn't believe it. Anyway, they went off to a local cafe while I went to tour the palace. As we'd initially approached the palace I noted the queue was being moved and police cars arriving. As I approached the line to get in to the palace the lines were suddenly dispursed. I thought it was maybe a tour group being redirected or something and continued to begin my tour. A guard stopped me as I moved forward. A mysterious package had been abandoned at the palace! The crowd was continually broken up and pushed back towards the gate as we tried to stand in any shady area like King Louie's statue etc. After an hour they decided to not reopen as they'de thought. As I was leaving the Palace with the rest of the crowd thart was left I over heard a journalist interviewing a tourist asking what they thought of terrorism! What kind of a question is that? I eventually found Paul and Jenee at a cafe taking photo's of a Texas group in full tourist regalia loudly speaking broken Spanish to a French waiter! After this day I was ready to leave Paris. monday, Jenee ordered Cream Brulee at a cafe as we waited for our train. It tasted strange so she didn't eat it. We tried to explain why she didn't eat it to the waiter who sent out the chef. They were so mad at us because we told them!
Now we are in Berlin!
Hopefully, I'll get to a internet cafe to upload photo's soon!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb