The snow still coming down


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Regensburg
February 8th 2013
Published: February 8th 2013
Edit Blog Post

After a fascinating tour, it wasn't long before I programmed the Navigation from my car and routed me from lngolstadt to Regensburg via the Altmuehtal Nature Park. For this segment I avoided the Autobahn since I was interested in seeing the winter beauty of the countryside and enjoying my driving vacation. I went through Kosching, Bettbrunn, Almanstein and Kelheim and ended up in Regensburg, my destination for that day. It was not the quickest route, but it gave me the chance to enjoy the view and tested my skill drive in winter.

After several hours of driving, I arrived at the ornate and historic Maximilian Hotel which opened in 1891. After an excellent four-course dinner at the hotel, I retired for the night, eagerly looking forward to the next day's drive. The next morning I plotted my way back to Ingolstadt with stopovers in Kelheim, Reidenburg, Deifurt, Beilingries, Kinding, Walting, Eichstatt and Nassenfels. Once back in Ingolstadt, I was ready to enjoy the extra days that I had with RS4 by visiting Fussen, Zurich and Baden-Baden. Roads like those through the Bavarian Alps tell you everything about a car's handling.

No theoretical performance numbers can replace the real-world feel offered through your connectedness with the car and the fearsome mountain passes. Forget about reaching the 250 kph on some straight road; it's the up and down winding roads that proved I chose the right car and Audi never let me down.

More pictures >> Driving in Winter

Interactive Maps for this trip >> Interactive Maps

Read more stories >> www.driving-vacation.com


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 16; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0342s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb