Okay... I'm ready - here comes another blog!!!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Oberstaufen
December 30th 2007
Published: January 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Triple XTriple XTriple X

Warren, Stuart and Chritine in the snow
Okay,

As I write this I am having the first relaxing day in what feels like 2 weeks... In actual fact it's been maybe 2 days, but my time is all screwed up, so please excuse any rash overstatements.

Also please excuse any inevitable mistakes that will be present in this blog as I am writing on a french keyboard, which is not that easy as it looks like this...
You don't want to know how long it took me to find the apostrophe - let's just all be happy that I found it okay?

Well, this week I suffered a hard loss. My traveling companion and general life companion Bender (known to most as simply my laptop - trust me, I would marry that thing if I could... but if the movie Bicentennial Man taught us anything it was that we will have to wait at least 200 years before that is possible... that and that Robin Williams movies post 1998 should generally be avoided - yet I STILL saw Man of the Year... stupid Susan, when will you learn?) died on the 3rd... or at least the windows part of him died, and I have
Warren and our snow alienWarren and our snow alienWarren and our snow alien

I like to call it bob...
had to leave his lifeless (and thus useless) body with my brother back in Ulm.

I now am writing to you all from the beautiful, misty, rainy French alps, in the attic of a gorgeous remodelled farm house owned by my french 'brother' Raphael and his family... But I don't want to get ahead of myself...

When last we left our heroine she was traveling through Bavaria looking at castles before returning to Oberstaufen for alcohol and awesome sandwiches... will the seele have protected her from the dreaded hangover??? Find out ... Right now...

It did not.

It did put me in a slightly grumpy mood when we headed out for another skiing adventure... after my first fall I gave up like the little giver upper that I am and went off to put on my shoes and play in the snow instead..

Oh, did I not mention - on the walk home from Globus the night before, it was snowing - my first proper snow!!! It continued all night, and when we were on the slopes snow still fell. So I went to work rolling a snow man, which soon morphed into a snow alien with some help from Christine, Warrren and Stuey...

A snow alien who was male, yet he had breasts (you know, as all male aliens do).

Well, hopefully we scared some kiddies at least.

That afternoon we headed into town as they were having a baloon lighting party... where they blow up hot air baloons and light them in different colours. Annnyway, we were a little late for that and arrived just in time to see the last baloon be packed up... I still thought it was cool though - there were people everywhere - kids having snowball fights and everything - cool... It was like I'd wandered into a Snoopy cartoon.

We did arrive just in time to get the last four wursts from the wurst guy and have some gluhwein... and to see the main attraction - town fireworks. On the actual new year's eve every individual person lets off their own fireworks, so apparently the town organises a display for the 30th.

It was awesome... I'd never been that close to fireworks before - they were exploding like right above our heads - we had an awesome view - it was great!
Stuart bob and ChristineStuart bob and ChristineStuart bob and Christine

Incidentally, this was my laptop's baxkground when it died...


We finished the night off with another trip to the Glashaus where I got arty and took pictures... there were these two Aussie WANKERS at the end of our table, so Warren and I tried to talk in English accents most of the night so that they wouldn't talk to us... They were pretty into their own company though - doing the whole 'this guy... this guy' thing - hilarious!!

New years soon I promise!


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

BobBob
Bob

and yes that is me looking like a knob in the background...
FireworksFireworks
Fireworks

Over Staufner Park, as a sort of pre-new years thing... freaking awesome
Dancing in the moonlightDancing in the moonlight
Dancing in the moonlight

Stuey and Christine dancing on the fountain ice
The roof of the GlashausThe roof of the Glashaus
The roof of the Glashaus

Is so cool... everything about this cafe is cool... people seem to dislike the chandelier, and I admit that it is slightly out of place, but I think it adds a little camp.
Candles and ashtraysCandles and ashtrays
Candles and ashtrays

My smokers cough has returned...
'mum' shot for Valerie'mum' shot for Valerie
'mum' shot for Valerie

you know what I'm talking about...


7th January 2008

Thanks especially for the "happy" photos at the end ... pity about Bender... let's hope it can be fixed.
7th January 2008

Schneemann!
Hey! Cool snowman! Nice to hear that you've arrived safely at Raphael and Clare's place in France. Looking forward to seeing more photos soon. Keep having fun! Viel Spass!!
8th January 2008

That's what you get for hogging all the Alcohol and not giving any to Bender, susan! Gosh!
14th January 2008

http://tanaudel.wordpress.com
Not a knob. You kind of look like... the Abominable Person stalking a terrified snowman.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb