Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
June 22nd 2015
Published: June 22nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

My last destination on my three weeks of travel was the Bavarian capital of Munich. I came into Munich from Augsburg in the afternoon and simply went for a walk around the city before grabbing dinner after having checked into my LAST hostel! I walked through the main part of the old city and went around Marienplatz and looked in at some churches. My second day in Munich started with going out to the Olympic Park and climbing Olympic hill in order to get a great view of the city and some mountains in the distance. After climbing the hill, I went through the BMW Welt, which is a showroom with all the latest models, and dreamed about the day I might be buying one. After going through the showroom, I went to the BMW Museum and learned the history of the company and how they are able to maintain excellence. After BMW, I went to the massive Englischer (English) garden, twice the size of Central Park, and walked around and made my way back to the heart of the city. I went to the Viktualienmarkt for lunch. It was really cool and the currywurst was the best I have had! After this, I walked around a little more and stopped in a few more churches before I met up with Kyle at the Marienplatz. Once we met up, we went to probably the most known place in Munich, Hofbrauhaus! Here I enjoyed another mass and Kyle actually had a beer with me. This excited me, but it is kind of expensive there and definitely a tourist hot spot. After this, we went back to Kyle’s hotel and just chatted a bit before he had to have dinner with the team and I went and had my own dinner, a donner. After dinner, we met back up and went to a bar with the team. It was an Irish pub, so I got my first Guinness since leaving Ireland. Although it was not the same, it was still pretty good and it was nice to mix it up from all the German/Czech/Austrian beer I had been drinking. After a few drinks, we were done as Kyle was tired from travelling all day and I had walked some 15 miles that day. It was a nice way to end the day and it was great that I got to see Kyle and catch up on all the latest.



My third and last day in Munich and Europe, I started by walking around and seeing the last few churches. I walked out to the surfer wave at Englischer garden and watched some locals surf this one wave that is created by a rapid in the river. It was entertaining and I was really impressed. After this, I walked around some more and did some thinking and reflection on my time abroad. I thought about how fortunate I am to have had this experience and nearly broke down in the middle of Munich. I then met up with Kyle again and I went back to the market for another currywurst for lunch. Kyle wanted to see the Olympic Park so we went out there and climbed the hill again and also went into the BMW Welt before going back to the market so Kyle could have a currywurst. After he ate, we sat in the little beer garden in the market and I had my last mass. After this, we walked back to Kyle’s hotel and talked some more before he had to get ready for his game. I then went to a great German beer garden for dinner and had my last beers and my last traditional meal and I was very happy with. Munich was a very nice city and the atmosphere in the beer gardens was great. It was a great city to end my time in Europe in!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb