Arrived in Munich! Day 1


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
January 18th 2014
Published: January 18th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So I finally arrived in Munich after about 25 hours of traveling, the usual I know but it does take it out of you. I have to say the 13 hour leg from Adelaide through to Dubai went kinda quickly for me. I watched a few tv shows and a movie, had dinner and a couple of red wines and dosed off. My back felt it the most I reckon, sleeping and sitting in a semi upright chair for that long, plus I was in between two people the whole way.

I had to laugh to myself at the guy sitting next to me, he didn't watch a thing on his tv and didn't eat 1 out of 3 meals provided on the flight. He just sat there and seemed to of looked at one focal point the whole time. 13 hours must of felt like a lifetime to him!

Arriving in Dubai was almost mind blowing. The terminal is huge but so easy to get where you need to be. I exited the plane at about 5.15am and it seemed like the place was empty until you take the escalators up into the main area of the terminal and it's shops for days. I had to catch a train to get to where my gate was which just shows how big the airport really is.

I had three hours before my next flight so I grabbed a fresh juice and ended up opting for Maccas. Easiest thing when you are in foreign territory but didn't really want to! Oh well! Anyway, I find it a strange thing when you cross time zones because you don't know whether to cater your needs for the time zone when you left or the one you are in. I know it was only 6am in Dubai but it's was after midday back home and the Heineken bar looked real inviting.

After 6 and a half hours from Dubai to Munich I had arrived! Bit intimidating I will admit, but everything is in English so you don't really have a problem until you get to the baggage claim. It's big but you can't get around it because there is sooo many people! I watched my bag go around once because I couldn't actually get to it!

Once I got my bags I followed the signs to the train. Got on it quite easy but there's always that thought in the back of your head saying... Am I on the right train?! Turns out I was and it real easy. I got off a the Hauptbahnhof which is the central station in Munich. Absolutely massive! I followed the directions my hotel gave me and they were literally 3 minutes from the station. Talk about convenience. I checked into my room and was feeling absolutely wrecked. But it was only 4 in the afternoon! I thought about a nap but instead I rang home, freshened up then went out and got a bite to eat around the corner. I waited out till 5.30 because the bar where I was staying had there happy hour. 2 euro beers! Need I mention that they are 500mL! While I was putting the Augustiner away I found an Australian bar in Munich called Ned Kellys. I'm going to check it out but not tonight I don't think. I have a big day planned tomorrow and I could do with a good sleep. I'm going to check out a concentration camp used during Hitler days and going on an extensive walk around the city. Will be much more exciting than today I promise 😊

Gute Nacht 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb