The Ugly American


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
August 25th 2011
Published: September 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Business LoungeBusiness LoungeBusiness Lounge

Charlotte Douglas Airport
Today has been a very fast-paced day, as are all travel days. Yesterday I found out that coincidentally my flight was with one of my good friends from home. I am flying Lufthansa, a German airline, and will be landing in Münich, so it helps that Sebastian and his dad are German and can get me sent off in the right direction for my transfer flight to Bilbao. After a short trip to the Charlotte Airport and a little string pulling by my German friends, I was able to sit in the business lounge to wait on the flight. This was a definite benefit, because I was able to watch Arsenal secure their spot in the Champions league group stage.
Right now I am sitting in Germany in the Munich Airport awaiting my transfer flight to Bilbao. Lufthansa is without a doubt the best airline I have ever flown with. They are extremely professional, kind, helpful, and the food is actually pretty good. Plus with my generation fly discount the flight was the cheapest I could find. The airport in Münich is unreal to say the least. It seems as if it is one of the most modern and sophisticated in
TerminalTerminalTerminal

Charlotte Douglas Airport
the world. It is like a city it is so large, and I almost wish I had more time to explore the shops, cafes, and restaurants before taking off to Bilbao. This place would rival any high-end mall in the United States. My friend told me that soon it will be the largest airport in the world.
I have already heard several different foreigners bashing Americans, so I hope I don’t fit this ugly, typical stereotype. Spain is so close I can almost smell it. When I arrive in Bilbao I dive headfirst into testing my somewhat confident Spanish skills. After a two-hour flight to Bilbao, I will be heading on another two-hour trip to Pamplona, this time by bus. I hope to get some much-needed sleep during these two hours because I didn’t sleep a single minute on the flight. However, it turned out to be worth it because I got to see an absolutely beautiful sunrise. It looked as if lava was bursting through the clouds.
If all goes well I should be in Pamplona at 3:30 but that is only if I catch the bus at 1:30. I have many expectations of how this experience is
BoardingBoardingBoarding

Lufthansa Airlines, Charlotte Douglas Airport
going to be, but I’m sure all this will change when I actually get there. I want to get a lot out of this once in a lifetime experience. Going into it I hope to meet as many people as I can, see as many sights and cities as possible, travel throughout various parts of Europe, and perfect my Spanish. This should be an exciting four months.



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Sunrise over the UKSunrise over the UK
Sunrise over the UK

In flight, about 2 hours from our destination
Lava SunriseLava Sunrise
Lava Sunrise

In flight, about an hour and a half from Münich
ArrivingArriving
Arriving

Arriving in Münich, on the descent.
ArrivalArrival
Arrival

Franz Josef Strauss Airport, Münich Airport


13th September 2011
Arrival

Stand up, Jeff. Oh wait, you ARE standing up. :-)
13th September 2011

you lucky duck!
Jeff, I am very jealous of you! Back when I was in college (yes, they had college back then), I minored in French and wanted very badly to make a trip like this to use my second language in the real world. But I was never able to find the time or money to make the trip. So without sounding too much like an old geezer (like your mom), I hope that you appreciate the opportunity to make a trip like this. Once you graduate, get a job, get married, and start a family it becomes exponentially more difficult to do something like this. So enjoy every minute of every day, take lots of pictures, continue to update your blog when you have a few spare minutes, and travel safely!
13th September 2011

Thanks for checking out the blog, it has helped me stay on top of remembering and cataloging my experiences. You are right when you say I am lucky to be able to do this. I am having a great time so far and will continue to I\'m sure. Keep a look out for new posts, and I hope to see you soon!

Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0359s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb