Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
September 18th 2010
Published: September 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Neues RathausNeues RathausNeues Rathaus

Von Sankt Peter
Unfortunately, I still haven't gotten the Internet at the flat worked out so I'm in another café to write this. So far today I've walked 4 1/2 miles from my flat to the Altstadt (old city). It's the older section of the city where a lot of the historical sights are, so lots of Baroque style architecture which was cool. A lot of the streets there don't allow cars so it's easier for pedestrians to get around. I happened upon it by accident, I was headed home, when I saw a lot of older looking buildings and an arch down Leopold Strasse. So I decided to walk down the street for a bit and ended up in the heart of the Altstadt. I saw the Siegestor (the victory arch), which is a huge arch that goes right over Leopold Strasse. Right after that was the Theaterinkirche (theater church), which is a mustard color. It's still been a little overcast but the weather is really nice. It's breezy but not too cold at all.

Then I came to Marienplatz and the Neues Rathaus (the new town hall). It was so beautiful, truly stunning. And the square that sits next to it was packed but really beautiful also. There were so many clock towers around and I could see the two towers of the Frauenkirche. I knew I had to get up into one of these towers and see the view. I chose the Sankt Peter clock tower and climbed the many many stairs to the top. The view from the top was amazing. I could see the Neues Rathaus, Marienplatz, the Frauenkirche, and so much of the city of Munich. If you walked around all the sides of the tower you had a 360 degree view of Munich. It was pretty awesome.

I didn't get much else done today but the sightseeing was a lot of fun. A lot of places close really early on Saturdays and most are closed all day Sunday. So both the gyms I went to check out were closed. I guess I'll have to go Monday.

I still haven't gotten a wifi usb stick either. I finally found an open phone store but they were all out of usb sticks. He said they should have a new stock by Monday. : /

I've walked so much in Munich. I like it though because
TheaterinkircheTheaterinkircheTheaterinkirche

Von Sankt Peter
it helps me remember my way around better.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0213s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb