Die Kaffeedose


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
May 8th 2009
Published: May 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Die Kaffeedose. The coffee tin.

I'm in love with it the second I pull it out from the shelf. It feels right; its the right height, width, depth; it has the right colours; the right shape. It will be perfect for i-have-no-idea-what.

The lid is dark brown, just like the Kaffeedose that used to sit in the cupboard above the kettle in my Oma's little kitchen. And the lacquer on the main body of my Kaffeedose is a shade of white that I forgot still existed. It has painted flowers and birds on it, like botanical specimen drawings. Like I said, its perfect.

I line up at one of the Kassen, cash registers, in the busy Dallmayr foodhall. The lady in front of me orders 700g of Arabian blend for her perculator; the one before her picks the house standard - 400g. When it comes my turn, I'm entirely happy with myself. I've found my match, that little something that one must find on every trip that will always subtly bring back fond memories of times gone past as one uses it around the home. Meine Kaffeedose; my coffee tin. €3.30.

X

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0284s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 4; ; mem: 1mb