Germany Part 2: Munich


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
July 6th 2005
Published: July 6th 2005
Edit Blog Post

munichmunichmunich

mmmm
Hi there everyone! Sorry it's been so long since our last entry, we've been a little lazy with it lately. Just so you know, pictures will be coming soon - we're having a hard time finding a place that will let us upload them. Ok! We left off last in Berlin (with Batman). Next we headed down to Munich where we stayed in the most god-awful hostel ever! It felt like a prison! I won't give disgusting details but the worst part was the construction at 7:30 am every morning! They were drilling directly over our heads! I don't think I slept for 3 days! Aside from that, Munich was great, extremely beautiful - but more expensive than Berlin. I guess that's the price you pay for a more aesthetically pleasing city. Graeme and I spent the first day walking around the famed Englischer Gardens - which was absolutely stunning! They have this huge (manmade we think) river running throughout the entire park (which by the way is massive, rivalling Hyde Park in London) and people float down it going about 5km an hour! It's really funning to see all of these bobbing heads floating down! The best, and most strange part of it all though, is that people actually SURF down it! There's this one part of the river where the water comes gushing out and creates this big wake and people spend the whole day surfing there! Next we came across the largest beer garden in Munich (also located in the gardens and basically sat and ate and drank there all day! Graeme would like it known though that he only had 2 beers along with a giant pretzel. I had my first real sip of beer and by the look of the photo you're all about to see, I still don't like it! I must say though, they have the best damn pretzels I've ever had! Not at all like the stale monstrosoties that you buy at the mall. The next day it POURED rain so we decided to go to one of the museums that housed works by Van Gogh and Monet (personal favourites of mine). Well, all was going well until Graeme went to take a picture of me in front of Van Gogh's sunflowers and I tripped and fell into it and set the alarm off!! I tried to act like it wasn't me of
munichmunichmunich

i had no role in this
course but a guard came and yelled at me in German and for the rest of our visit he followed us and gave me dirty looks. It's not like I knocked it off the wall for crying out loud! I'll be ending this entry now and starting a new one on our adventures (or lack thereof) in Vienna. We are currently sitting in a university library in Innsbruck, Austria posing as students so as to take advantage of the free internet. It is also currently pouring rain.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

munichmunich
munich

park
munichmunich
munich

small museum park
munichmunich
munich

main square
munichmunich
munich

its not an ostrich but....
munichmunich
munich

monet!
munichmunich
munich

jens ice cream
munichmunich
munich

something
munichmunich
munich

beer garden
munichmunich
munich

Ludwig I


Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0419s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb