On to the second phase


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Munich
June 6th 2018
Published: June 6th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Today we spent the last full day in Germany, driving from Nuremberg to Munich. I dropped my new car off at the transport point at the Munich airport to have it shipped back to the US, in about 8 weeks. While it was a fun experience, I do not think I would do a European delivery again. It was very complicated to set up and the car in Germany did not have all the functions it will have in the US. The car is on it's way back, and Sophie and I are on our way to the second phase of our travels.

Tomorrow we fly to Athen for two days and then board the Seabourne cruse which goes from Athens, around the south of Italy eventually to Barcelona the end of June. Lots of fun to be had by all.

It is with some sadness that I leave Germany. I have been gone for 17 years, other than business trips back until I retired in 2009. For me, it was really wonderful to be able to refresh my German language during the past two weeks. At the end, most of what I lost came back, especially in the understanding of the language. My vocabulary was slowly coming back, but was not completely back during the two weeks. German is such a technically difficult language to learn, it was really a challenge to speak it again. I trust that someday, soon, I will return.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0843s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb