I'm Having a BIG time...


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Garmisch-Partenkirchen
January 20th 2008
Published: January 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Wow- it's been a while since the last update! And I've had 2 more trips since then! London and Vienna... which were both great.
The Vienna trip was a solo trip and I have never been so cold in my life! It was a different cold than I had ever experienced before: a biting, goes straight to your bones kinda cold. But what a beautiful city. The buildings are all so grand and ornate. I got in on a Friday afternoon fairly early, found my hotel, and headed out. Since I was by myself I decided I could splurge a bit and go for a single WITH a bathroom 😊 Great idea in the end of course!
Well, the first day I ended up going to the Hofburg Palace and going to the exhibit about "Sisi". It was really interesting. Her story is really interesting- and very depressing. She became somewhat of a recluse and then was eventually assassinated. But their palace was spectaular. My admission ticket for that allowed me to view some of the other rooms there as well. That afternoon I just kinda wandered around and got, of course, coffee and pastry. I actually ended up sleeping early both nights I was there and taking insanely hot showers to de-thaw and warm up.
The next day I went to the Belevedere Palace to see the Gustav Klimt. That was fantastic work. If ya'll aren't familiar with it- I would google his work- it's really interesting. That day I also found the big market which just goes and goes with a ton of spices, dried fruits, fish, meats, cheeses, bread... it was great! I ended up stumbling on a coffee roasting shop- and bought a bag. I took a tour of the opera house as well. It was beautiful, but I couldn't help but think the Paris opera house was a little bit more grand.
The highlight of my trip was Sunday morning. I woke up to go to the mass that the Vienna Boys Choir performs at. They are so incredible. Their voices are amazing. Since they were actually singing during the mass they were above where I was, but at the end they came down to sing 2 songs. It was great. A mass with the Vienna Boys Choir... what an experience.
Now Jason is here! We've had absolutely great weather- warm and sunny. We hiked up part of the Krammer mountain just behind my housing to a hut up there and hung out a bit. We've eaten quite a bit- haha, go figure, and just had a big time. Next we'll be going to Slovakia! It will be a fun but I'm sure pretty cold.
I'm going to try to do better about updating this thing! I'll try to get those Vienna pictures up too, although I didn't take too many just because I couldn't bear to get my hands out of my gloves too often! But more updates to come!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0768s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb