Central Europe on a whirlwind


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Augsburg
May 9th 2006
Published: May 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

WilkommenWilkommenWilkommen

Pretty stupid opening photo but it still makes me giggle. This was on a door in Hallstatt (Austria).
Hi everybody. I’m in a peaceful little corner of Bavaria near Augsburg, enjoying the hospitality of Herr Biggs and Frau Eva, typing here on a keyboard with the Y and Z in the right place while Jonny peruses a former GDR property magazine, wondering which 12,000 euro castle would make the better investment. True to recent travel form my last couple of weeks has been an enjoyable high-speed blur, but I’ll attempt to recap.

The random turn in the trip had me arriving in a cold, grey Munich with a fresh suntan. I’d had some second thoughts about my hasty decision to fast-track to central Europe, but have not regretted the move at all. The two nights in Munich was a great introduction. I joined up with an American from the hostel and stumbled across a local, Eike, who took us on a personalised bar and pub tour over two nights. Most German jokes made by Tom and I were taken graciously or politely misunderstood. We behaved ourselves eventually. Yes beer was involved.

Visiting Dachau on a cold, wet, miserable day with a hangover was probably not a great move but it was very sobering. I wouldn’t say I
DachauDachauDachau

And the perimeter fence. Dong.
was psychic but I could sense that there had been a great deal of human suffering there during the war (der). In some places; the roll call area and by the crematorium where innumerable executions were carried out, I felt something that chilled me right to the bone.

Praha was a revelation. A truly overwhelming mass of architectural bliss; ornate, opulent, beautiful. Masses of tourists too, but rightly so, and I didn’t mind the hordes so much. Cesky Krumlov had a finer atmosphere - not quite the spoilt destination Praha has become, but unfortunately may one day be. I had a great time there with a bevy of ozbabes too, and the heaviest night of drinking yet. I say yet because I am now staying with Jon, and well, I think you know the story.

Oooohhhh Viennnaaaa (sorry Midge). Again, gorgeous, overwhelming, everything I’d expected with good old-fashioned Austrian hospitality (ppfft ahem). So I couldn’t get enough of that hospitality and decided to move on to Hallstatt, a Unesco village in the Tyrol region, nestled neatly alongside a lake amongst the alps. It was very pretty, but with most walks closed due to the recent heavy snows and
Oh Praha...Oh Praha...Oh Praha...

Incapturable, but here's one shot.
subsequent melts, I couldn’t see a reason to stay longer than a night in the hostel which would have easily inspired King to write a sequel to the shining (I was the only guest).

I took the train to Salzburg for a wander amongst the markets and a little festival for Amadeus’ 265th, which featured a local lad in costume reciting Falco’s infamous tune. After yet more pork sausage with pickled shit and bread, I headed back to München for the night. An intriguing day at the compendious Deutches museum and then onto Augsburg.

Its so nice to be just relaxing for a while, taking stock, soaking in the sunshine and superb beer. Today I’ve had a great home-cooked three-course lunch with the witty Dietmar (Jon’s new employer) and wife (Erna) in this village (Aystetten), and will sign off for now. Hope you’re all doing well and enjoying the blogging..

A xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Krusty the KrumlovKrusty the Krumlov
Krusty the Krumlov

Lovely place.
Ya Ministeren!Ya Ministeren!
Ya Ministeren!

Wien Parlament.
IBM still 'hard' at workIBM still 'hard' at work
IBM still 'hard' at work

At the Deutsches museum, München.
The reunionThe reunion
The reunion

The fields are alive, with the sounds of Jon's f..ts
GimpGimp
Gimp

That's for poor behaviour.


14th May 2006

What - No Beer in Austria
Hi traveller, Steve Bee with Mum on Mothers Daty wishing you were here.......... Have a great time and we love your witty commentary. We are keeping and sending these to Lonely Planet as copy for their new 2007 books. Disappointed you did not go to the Monks Brewery in Saltzberg on the Sunday - its great.... Don't forget to get some architectural picks of buildings for me. Mum and family send their love. Steve Bee buzzing offfff............

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 16; qc: 76; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb