Farewell Haigerloch, May We Meet Again Soon!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg
July 25th 2014
Published: July 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

It is amazing just how much humans can bond over a relatively short period of time, often without even realizing just how much they have. Our incredible experience in Haigerloch has come to a close all too quickly, and I type this blog entry on the train from Stuttgart to Fussen flanked by teary eyed teenagers who feel as if they are leaving home for the second time this trip.

Yesterday was our last day at school, and it was a day of goodbyes, for students and for teachers. Everyone in this tightly knit community welcomed us with widely opened arms not because they had to, but rather because they truly wanted to. The teachers, the staff, and the students made us feel as if we were a long time part of the community, and we truly appreciate that.

After some last english lessons, another American football class, and many, many hugs, we met as a group in our classroom to write thank you cards for our hosts. The fact that our time here was limited was now becoming all too real for some. Even as the cards were composed, some eyes were beginning well with tears, and voices were becoming shaky.

Once complete, we headed for a last swim in the outdoor pool on this beautiful sunny day. Flips off the high dive to various degrees of success, belly flop bets, and general lounging in the sun filled the afternoon.

Far too quickly, the time had come to depart for the farewell dinner. Too quickly not because we didn't want to attend, but because this function was tangible evidence that our time here was coming to a close. The event took place at a park in a nearby town, which offered the kids a place to run and play soccer, or find a quiet place to chat in the sun one last time. The parents and teachers conversed, and it was great to hear so many wonderful stories from the different families about how well our kids fit in with them, some of the adventures they had, and how much they would be missed.

After a dinner of traditional German barbecue, the group came together, Americans standing before our German hosts. Each student took a moment to let everyone know what this exchange meant to them, what they enjoyed most, as well as thanking their host family for all that they had done. The speeches were warm, heartfelt and profound. Some couldn't quite make it all the way through what they wanted to say however, as the tears started to flow. It wasn't just the kids who were emotional. Several of the German parents needed to dry their eyes as well.

Once a couple began to cry, the flood gates opened. After the speeches were complete, the hugs and cascade of emotions ensued. Soon, the students and families began to migrate toward home in order to pack and prepare for the early morning departure.

The scene was repeated this morning on platform 15 at Stuttgart Hauptbanhof. Parents and students fought back tears quite unsuccessfully as everyone struggled to say goodbye.

The hard goodbye, while difficult, serves to prove the power of this exchange. Over the course of just a few weeks, students from tiny Bow, Washington and quaint Haigerloch, Germany became lifelong friends. A multitude of fun, enriching experiences on both sides of the pond will live on in all of our memories for a lifetime.

Already, here on the train, stories, experiences and feelings are being shared though the tears. Students are recounting the group trips, their experiences at school, or something special that they enjoyed about their host families. Everyone has had something to share.

The genuine kindness and incredible generosity shown to our students on this leg of the exchange has served to create an amazing experience for all involved. The bonds created between partners, and their families, has ultimately made leaving Haigerloch seem like leaving home.

Below are a few words from some of our students about what this experience has meant to them.



From the beginning when my family and I met Feli Kotz at the Seattle airport I remember thinking "wait, what am I going to do?" I don't speak much German nor understand it, but at least I knew some to help me out a little. In the end, this exchange worked out phenomenally. At the start Feli and I weren't very close, but then an, while trying to understand one another, an amazing friendship began. Our friendship mostly started to grow when I came here to Germany. Haigerloch, Germany was probably the most beautiful sight I've ever seen. The villages were so close together and everything was old or had a history to them. I had the time of my life on this trip and I loved experiencing a different culture which made me less afraid of trying new things. For me, my German parents and siblings tried to learn English which was a lot of fun to watch and hear, but they did great. On the train ride away from my host family and to Munich where we will take off for home I cried. I admit it, I cried my eyes out! It only hit then that I wouldn't see these people for a long time, or never again. Even if it was for three weeks it felt like I knew them for so much longer than that. My host family are now my second family that will always be in my heart.

-Anna Dahl



When I first came to Germany I was a little scared. But once I went to my host house I felt like I was at home in Washington. The experience I had here was amazing. The food was awesome and the places we went where really exciting. The castle we went to was really big and was old. It had a huge armory and jewelry storage. When we went to Stuttgart and to the Mercedes Benz museum, the cars there where really cool and unique. The best part of the trip was being able to stay with our families. They where so nice and friendly. Hopefully I will meet with my host family again.

-Gabe Ensley



Our trip to Germany, where do I begin? I could start with explaining the countries beauty, but it's a kind of beautiful you have to see to believe. It's not the same to just read about it as much as it is to experience it. I could talk about the food, about every kind of pasta and the hundreds of ways I learned to prepare ham. I could rave about the activities we did such as Europa Park, going to France, or swimming in Lake Constance. Instead of blabbing on for hours and bragging about all things Germany, I want to say why I cried as we pulled away from the train station, Lea standing and waving on the platform just feet away. I cried happy tears because of the memories I will hold for the rest of my life. I cried sad tears knowing it could be months or even years before I see the Schneider Family again. I cried tears of longing for staying, why did we have to go? Because we have to I told myself. Mom and Dad and Ryan miss you too much. I cried happy tears for the bond that was built by us sitting around the table after dinner giving English and German lessons to one another, laughing and talking and just smiling. I felt cheerful, and I knew they did too. We were all happy and even though it was only for a few short weeks, it felt like I have known them for a life time. They mean so much to me and I can't thank them enough for their efforts to make me happy, comfortable and at home. With smiles on their faces and open arms they'd greet me every morning with breakfast and a hug. I never felt alone and I always felt welcome and safe, feelings that are very important when you are this far away from home. When I arrive back to Washington I plan to make a scrapbook of this trip, a book filled with pictures of smiling faces, bright eyes, amazing times and wonderful memories. I plan to someday come back, I don't know when, but I know I will. These life-long friends and cherished memories will last forever.

- Kayli Riggs



I first thought that i wouldn't enjoy this trip and that i wouldn't have fun or anything like that, but I enjoyed almost the entire trip! Everything except the canoeing trip... I did not enjoy tipping into water two times. I think the most enjoyable family moment was when my host father Arnold took me on a 6 hour motorcycle ride around Germany. I loved seeing the landscape. It was breath taking because it was so beautiful! Another time I really enjoyed was when in the first week of being here we all sat at the table and just talked, laughed, and had a really great time. Arnold and I talked about music a lot. We talked about a concert called bang your head, it was multiple bands that played and it was a three day long thing, started Friday night and ended Sunday. I loved the days where we went and hung out at Lea's or when Kayli and Lea came to Alessa's. I didn't like the walking as much but it would of been better if I didn't have a broken foot... but I kept up with everyone so I would say I did pretty good. I didn't feel like I got super close or anything like that with Alessa or her family, but last night at the farewell BBQ we said what we wanted to say to the family and the whole group. Then Ms. Herder said to go hug everyone and at the point everyone was crying and it was a mess and I realized how close I had gotten to my host family. Today we had missed the first train that left at 7:12 so we had to wait another hour before we could leave so the 4 of us went and got Starbucks for the first time in 3 weeks and as we were getting ready to get on the train we all hugged our German students and then I really realized that I didn't want to leave and that I wanted to stay. I loved my german family as much as I loved my actual family! I got onto the train and I couldn't hold it in anymore and I started crying even though I could still see Alessa I felt so far and I hated that feeling. I felt like I was leaving my family again and that just made me cry more. I am defiantly coming back to visit! I don't know when but I will! This trip was the best experience I have ever had, I couldn't believe I didn't want to do it.

-Kjirsi Wilhonen


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0409s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb