Week 3 and 4 in Germany


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Baden-Württemberg » Schwäbisch Hall
September 2nd 2008
Published: September 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi all, so its been a while since I wrote an entry to a my blog. Let’s see, I have done quite a lot in the last two weeks. I was in Rotenburg with my tandem partner Klaus. Rotenburg was pretty cool; they have a wall that surrounds the whole town parts of it was destroyed during World War 2. After World War 2, many businesses in Germany and across the world raised funds so the wall could be rebuild. When I went and walked on the pathway that is build onto the wall, I saw all the different companies that donated money for the wall to be rebuilt. I saw a lot of Japanese companies like Toyota, Mitsubishi, Sony, etc. I also saw a lot of Japanese tourist in Rotenburg, I wonder if there is a connection or just a coincidence.
I also visited a torcher museum in Rotenburg. They had some pretty sick things going on in the medieval-age. Some of the sick things that I saw was a dunking tank. If a baker would make a loaf of break too big or too small they would throw him or her in the tank and dunk them for hours.
The ExecuterThe ExecuterThe Executer

This picture was taken inside the museum. Its a what the executer would wear when he/shttp://www.travelblog.org/Admin/photos-entry.html?diary_id=319102# edithe would execute people.
That is just cruel. I made the tour as fast as I could. Honestly, the more things I saw the more it just freaked me out. I can't believe humans did some of those things to one another. On a lighter note, I had a Rotenburg Snowball. Yes snowball in summer. It’s this thing that is made out of dough and fried into a ball and coated with frosting. My frosting had a champagne flavor to it, interesting taste. That was it for Rotenburg.
Next trip that I went on was to Neue Schweinstein. Neue Schweinstein is a famous castle that was built by King Ludwig the Second. King Ludwig the Second basically blew his families money by building these castles around southern Germany. I think he built a total of four castles, one of them being on an island. These castles or at least Neue Schweinstein, are filled with gold, literally. I didn't take any pictures of the inside, because I was not allowed, but the outside looks like some sort of fairy tale world. I spent the whole day wondering around the castle and taking pictures. It was a breath taking experience, especially standing on this bridge that
The Dunking CageThe Dunking CageThe Dunking Cage

Here is the dunking cage I talked about where they would stick a backer in if he or she would make the bread too small or too large.
was few hundreds feet above this waterfall. Oh, and the scenery well worth my climb to the bridge. I had to walk couple of miles of a steep hill to get to the Neue Schweinstein and the bridge.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Year-Round Christmas StoreYear-Round Christmas Store
Year-Round Christmas Store

This store attracts visitors from all over World. There was a group of students who wanted to go to Rotenburg just because of the store. Its a cool store, but its too expensive for my pocket book.
Snow Ball Snow Ball
Snow Ball

This is the snow fall that I enjoyed eating.
Neue SchweinsteinNeue Schweinstein
Neue Schweinstein

This is one of the castles Ludwig the Second built.
Klaus and IKlaus and I
Klaus and I

This here is Klaus, my tandem partner. He drove me to Neue Schweinstein to show me these castles.


Tot: 0.243s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb