A Giant Leap


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
December 10th 2011
Published: December 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Tonight was another youth group night and I'm glad to say that it went well - I feel like I've made a big leap in getting to know more of the group and making friends. As I walked in half an hour late tonight (I did this purposely so I wouldn't have too much of the meal to endure) I heard a few exclamations of surprise - yes I had turned up - and I was greeted with some big smiles and a few waves. Vincent, the leader even made a royal announcement of my name, I guess in an effort to take on board the things I'd said about struggling within the group and in order to make me feel welcome. I very much appreciated the gesture.

I was however, a bit disappointed when I saw that my American friend, Olivia wasn't there. I was worried that it would be a repeat performance of my first night with the group when I'd had no one to talk to and I'd been left feeling very alone and left out. I sat down next to a girl I knew to be quite friendly but whose name I can't remember - she has told me on a couple of occasions but French people often say their names so fast and with such an accent that I can never quite get it until I see it written down, unless of course it's a very simple name like 'Cathy' (my Francophone name!) I also found myself sitting next to a girl I didn't recognize and who didn't seem a big part of the group - she seemed to know everyone but didn't talk much - I thought about trying to start up a conversation with her but Vincent was sitting right next to her and I didn't want to make and idiot of myself in front of him. As a result the only thing I managed to say to her was did she not like the quiche after she took a bite from it and then placed it back on the plate it had come from, asking me if I'd like to cut off the germ-infested part and eat the rest.

The conversation on our side of the table soon turned into an English lesson when Shafika, a woman from the church who likes to spend time with the youth, asked me what the word 'ermeveille' was in English. I should have know the answer straightaway but I had to think about it for a bit and try out different words for size. In the end we (I conferred with Vincent on the matter as he can speak quite good English) decided it meant 'amazing'. Vincent also suggested 'awesome' - one of his favourite English words it would seem, no doubt as a result of spending a long time in America. It was very amusing to hear him speaking in English - something which is so familiar to me but which sounds so alien when spoken by a foreign person - he has what I think should be called a Franco/American accent - what happens when French people learn English from Americans. Having this small English lesson (Vincent went on to talk to me about more things) at the table evidently meant I was involved in the conversation which made me very happy and also helped me to feel more relaxed. I am very grateful for Vincent's advanced efforts to get me integrated into the group.

Halfway through the meal a girl called Claire arrived - she's very nice and very outgoing, very pretty too - one of the girls who I was quite in awe of on my first night and also envious of too. But the more I am getting to know her the more I am beginning to like her. I was very pleased when I managed to start a conversation with her about the house-move - not a very interesting subject perhaps but even so it was a positive development. Sitting there at the table tonight, I also realized that I understood a lot more of the conversation around me - it encourages me so much to see that my French has improved - I'm certainly not fluent yet but I'm so much more confident now and that makes a world of difference.

After the meal we had some time for games - we were split into two teams - the kiwis and the pineapples. I won't go into detail on the games but they were good fun even though I was one of the more quiet members - I miss being more vocal and being one of the leaders. After a few rounds of highly competitive games (it would seem that the youth here are just the same as the ones I left back home when it comes to competition) my team - the pineapples finally won! Yippee!!

Once the silliness and games were over it was time to look at Philippians 2 - I didn't understand the whole talk but the gist of it was about obedience to God. Mainly because of my lack of understanding I found this part quite boring and was glad when it was finally over and we were able to pray. I told myself that I would definitely go forward for prayer - I need it and I realize that in the past I should have asked for it more - not just in the youth but in the church too. All the girls huddled into one corner whilst the boys went off into another. Being physically close to the girls (we all stood in a circle and Claire put her arm round me) made me feel closer to them socially too. It was great and it reminded me of the unity and intimacy I shared with my youth group back home - something I didn't quite realize I had until I left. We prayed for various members of the group but as it began to get late, in the end those who hadn't yet been prayed for (this included me and a few others) just had to share briefly what they wanted prayer about and then we prayed about all the different things together in the group. I asked for prayer about my year in France because I find it spiritually and socially hard sometimes. I was a bit disappointed that I didn't get the laying on of hands kind of prayer but maybe there will be the opportunity for me to ask someone tomorrow in church.

I left the youth group feeling uplifted and hopeful - in one night I feel a lot has changed between me and some of the youth - some of that I know is down to my own effort but the rest I know is down to God. Only He can turn the impossible into the possible and only He can turn our steps into leaps.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb