Tick tock ; Apply wax and polish, I’m going back on the global intern market!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
October 1st 2008
Published: October 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

That’s right, time’s a tickin’ and I’m still spinning my wheels. Not that I’ve ever been one to enter the rat race—scratching my way to the top has never been first on my list. But I feel I’m wasting away by sitting around without a clear plan for this fall. It’s now October 1st and I feel like I’ve been sold down the river by the government’s security clearance procedures. I was supposed to start my internship in Sarajevo a month ago, but yesterday I got a message from “the Office of Personnel Security/Suitability” saying I’m just gonna have to keep waiting for a yes/no answer. “Check back in 15 to 20 business days” he said, after my 10th inquiry. Tick tock Jonsey! I’ve gotta complete 14 weeks of internship before classes start again in February!

So because of that, I’m polishing my CV and writing a new cover letter so I can put myself back out on the market. Unfortunately I’m a couple months late to the party. Hopefully there will still be something left for me. Whereas my classmates have already started their internships at the UN or the ICC, I’m busy searching for scraps under the table. Lesson learned: Student Programs at the State Department cannot be trusted with your future. When you’ve got a deadline to meet, it’s better to look for something that can give a definitive answer within at least a few weeks - not say “yes” after a month and then “maybe” 4 months later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.22s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0348s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb