Un Bon Weekend de Printemps


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France
May 3rd 2008
Published: May 3rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Walk HomeWalk HomeWalk Home

There are these trees everywhere, and they look like rose trees or something, but they're beautiful.
Salut!

So I had a great weekend. It began with me walking home from school on Wednesday (yes I did say Wednesday, yea for long weekends). The sun was shining, the weather was great, and I enjoy walking home. I've posted pictures of sights along my walk each day, I walk 40 minutes one-way to get to school, to save money on the bus. When it's nice out I really enjoy it.

Then, I woke up bright and early Thursday morning to jet down to Marseille for a weekend of sun and adventure. Yes, I did it, I went all by myself. Sorry I didn't tell you Mom, but I knew you'd freak out if you knew I was going alone. But I can assure you, I'm home safely as I'm writing this, and I had a fantastic time! The trip started out a little rocky, as I didn't know that the buses don't run on the 1st of May, as it's the French equivalent of Labor Day. (Hence the lack of school). So I'm waiting and waiting for the bus to come, and finally it comes to me about 20 minutes before my train is supposed to leave,
Walk HomeWalk HomeWalk Home

These are the signs I follow between the dorms and school.
there aren't any buses running. I call a taxi, it arrives in 10 minutes, and I throw my bags in and declare, "I have 7 minutes to get to the train station!" I have never feared for my life in an automobile more than during that ride to the train station. I kept saying, "God, please don't let me die in this cab in France!" But he got me there in 6 minutes, I throw the door open, sprint to where my train is supposed to be, and there's nothing there. I think, "****." I ask someone, and they say that it's already departed. So after all that I trudge back to the place to buy tickets, explain that I've just missed my train, and ask when the next one is and how much it'll cost me, he looks out the window and says, you haven't missed it, here it comes right now!" Again, "****!" So I run back to the place where the trains arrive to, and just barely make it on the train before it continues on to the next town. But it was a great weekend after the initial drama. I got there, and explored the Old
Walk HomeWalk HomeWalk Home

Some of the adorable neighborhood I cut through.
Port area for awhile, checked out a couple of the cathedrals in Marseille (one of which is hardcore, and on top of this really tall hill so you can see it from anywhere in Marseille). That night I headed out to an Irish Pub, drank a little Guinness and grooved out to some Celtic music. The next day was spent at the beach, which is exactly what I needed after a three week bout of Besancon rainy gloom. I did get a little sunburned though...the next day I wandered through a market, picked up some local goods, and called it a day, heading back to Besancon.

When I arrived, I dropped my stuff and went directly to a concert. There has been this huge music festival going on in Besancon for the past four days, and I've missed most of it, but got back just in time to hear my favorite French singer perform. It was a blast. And hopefully the video I took will load and you'll be able to see and hear it too. It's been a long weekend, and a long day particularly, but I'm happy to have adventured and experienced, and am not looking forward
Walk HomeWalk HomeWalk Home

Some more...
to all the work I have ot get done tomorrow for finals!

A tres bientot
SFech


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Walk HomeWalk Home
Walk Home

Random wheelbarrow/my attempt at an artsy photo.
Walk HomeWalk Home
Walk Home

Usually this space is filled with touchy-feely teens, as it's situated right in front f a high school.
Walk HomeWalk Home
Walk Home

Beautiful flowers.
Walk HomeWalk Home
Walk Home

Beautiful flowers. Encore.
Walk HomeWalk Home
Walk Home

Last of the series of walking home.
MarseilleMarseille
Marseille

Navettes, a traditional Marseillais cookie.
MarseilleMarseille
Marseille

The Old Port.
MarseilleMarseille
Marseille

Boats!
MarseilleMarseille
Marseille

Notre Dame de la Garde. This is the cathedral on the hill. The golden statue on top is 9 feet tall!
MarseilleMarseille
Marseille

It was so hot I had to cool down with a peach apricot granita!
MarseilleMarseille
Marseille

A war memorial that looks sneakily similar to the Arc de Triomphe...
MarseilleMarseille
Marseille

Ok so I may or may have not taken one of those ridiculously touristy tram things around the city. BUT in my defense, you can't physically climb to see some of the stuff. This is a fortress built 16 centuries ago. Yeah.
MarseilleMarseille
Marseille

From another angle.
MarseilleMarseille
Marseille

The city from above.
MarseilleMarseille
Marseille

The city from above.
MarseilleMarseille
Marseille

I enjoyed a classic in Marseille, moules frites (or mussels and fries). With white wine, of course.
MarseilleMarseille
Marseille

The band at O'Malley's, site of Thursday night festivities.


Tot: 0.42s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb