Saint Saens Dilemma


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Upper Normandy
October 28th 2008
Published: December 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post


Day 1

Using a map as reference Becky and I intuitively pick up the energy trail and draw ourselves to two different towns though they are within 10 miles of each other. We sense deeper this time both receiving "Saint Saens, France". Our next decision was transportation and we both sensed a bus which as it turned out was our only option.

I am still very sick with my cold and we tow luggage about two thirds of a mile stopping to get food that we thought was sausage and chips (french fries), the only thing on the menu we thought I might be able to eat. When we received our order the sausages looked like long thin, red colored hotdogs and tasted a lot like them, which I ate without question, but Becky would not touch - other than the fries. So far every country we have been to has a love affair with french fries which they call by differing names but serve with practically everything. Anyway, it is on to the bus station, in the rain, as usual.

We meet Jackie there, a lovely and vivacious french women that I started up a conversation with, though we could barely communicate. This hardly stops Becky or I now and she tried to help us with the bus schedule. After getting on the bus we had fun using the electronic translator while trying to talk about spirituality. We left our new friend, who turned out to be a spiritual seeker like us, at the next bus stop and parted with much regret. The world seems so small when I meet others who desire connection and spiritual communion as we do. In the briefest of moments we still found significance and heartfelt empathy. We are not likely to ever forget her.

Our final destination came quickly and we got off the bus in the rain in Saint Saens. It was about 1:00 PM and everything was closed. We finally found a small cafe that was still open. I tried to use some phrases I had written down in my little notebook but it was the help of a Scandinavian man who intervened, and just happened to speak 4 languages two of which were french and English, that helped us the most. He explain that we were merely wanting drinks and a place out of the rain.
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen

Le Relais Normand Cafe
Becky and I found him quite charming, very educated and we decided "hunky" was the only word that really fit for his good looks.

From there we sensed for a Bed and Breakfast only to discover the one we were guided to just up the street was not available, the women being in southern France. We turned to our second guided choice. Becky called to gather information to see if suitable for us, especially me. She was assured our needs would be met and there were no stairs.

We towed luggage about 4 blocks to an older residence and upon gaining entrance I was presented immediately with a steep set of winding stairs. I balked. Badly. I sat down on the bottom steps and refused to budge. It had taken all my energy to get there and I had nothing left to climb the stairs.

It was not good. Becky didn't know what to do with me. I turned away from everyone and sat there fighting back tears. I didn't know how to keep going. Once again, I didn't understand why we were sensing for our accommodations and I was still ending up with nearly impossible experiences
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen

The Little Cafe
for myself. It also didn't help for me to see how easy it was for Becky. I felt inadequate and a burden. I questioned why all of this was happening.

The two young women who work here carried up my luggage and Becky got the rest of my stuff. I slowly hauled myself up the stairs and collapsed on one of the beds. One good thing is we have lots of heat for which I am very appreciative. I also have a large deep bathtub for my aches and pains as well as a heater in the bathroom. For these reasons and the fact I could go no further, I decided to stay. However, my mood has not dramatically improved. I am too miserable.

Day 2

Still sick. Still miserable. I feel desperate to be alone and have some space. Though cold and threatening rain I go for a walk even though I know I will have those daunting stairs upon my return. We are on the edge of town and in two blocks I am in trees and nature which soothes the beasties in me. I calm down and spend some time taking pictures which remains
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen

The Little Cafe
my only true pleasure.

I am better when I get back. I climb the stairs slowly but I make it to the top. I discover the two girls who own the place are being as accommodating as they can be. I am grateful for their kindness. Becky is bringing back what food she can find. Not much luck. Bread, cheese, dairy, almost everything has it. I am mostly feeding myself with what we brought with us: granola bars, tuna, peanut butter and fruit we pick up along the way.

Day 3

None of my drama steals away my admiration for this town. I just love it. It is picturesque, friendly and relaxed. I would be pleased to stay here for the duration of our trip. I especially love how busy it is at the main intersection in the village right at 12:00 noon. The church bells chime and people scurry about and soon you see most of them with long baguettes of bread in hand. They head home for a 2 hour lunch and all shops accept a few are now closed. The streets are empty. Only Becky and I sit alone on a bench and wait
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen

On the Way to the B&B
for our ride to our next destination. Let's hope it doesn't have stairs...



Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen
France_Saint Saen

Our B&B Room
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen
France_Saint Saen

French Flag out our Window
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen
France_Saint Saen

Walking out of Town
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen
France_Saint Saen

Autumn Trees
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen
France_Saint Saen

Saint Saen Church
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen
France_Saint Saen

Town Architecture
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen
France_Saint Saen

Saint Saen Florist
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen
France_Saint Saen

Lunch Baguette
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen
France_Saint Saen

Lunch Baguette
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen
France_Saint Saen

Specialty Market
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen
France_Saint Saen

Waiting for the Bus
France_Saint SaenFrance_Saint Saen
France_Saint Saen

Leaving Saint Saen


10th December 2008

to dream
Lettie, I met you years ago when you were a drywall guy! I'm Craigs buddy. through Craigs friendship with you, I have kept up with your life. I apologize if that sounds odd. I watch you now, with your comrades, doing something blessed. God speed.
13th December 2008

Wishing You Ground Level Accommodation......
...... Godspeed to physical restoration....... and transportation from door to door - with full gain of guided purpose. What a lovely town. My heart goes out to you My Dearest Teacher and I miss you both almost achingly for some reason. I wish I could have been your 'Personal Valet, shared your travel physically - and quite simply carried your bags. You had blood sausage, I believe - which I really enjoyed when I stayed in the Opera district (a 'non-tourist-ish' Greek segment of France near the Latin Quarter) Becky - you should have eaten those meaty red morsels - they are scrumptious. I love you both - am on edge anticipating your return..... and seeing you both after your likely 'rest and recuperation’ sabbatical following your return to the states. I Imagine French Fries won't be on the menu for at least a while... LOL Always Yours, John Pratt Booker
13th December 2008

Welcome!
Walter, You are welcome to join in vicariously any time, but since you have come out of the drywall closet, please remind me of when we met and where. I rarely forget a drywall connection and would love to remember if I can. Regardless, I am glad to hear from you and that we are connected thorugh my buddy Craig whom I love to pieces. Besides, you might as well join in and become part of our spiritual seeking family. We love heart connections. We are hopeful of becoming more of service to life and Spirit by expanding ourselves through this journey. I am being tested right now and hope I am not left wanting. Your message is a timely gift for I am tired and struggling and it cheered me as well as got me out of myself for a bit to think about you. Thanks for that. I hope that your life is being blessed in every way. Journey on! Lettie
13th December 2008

God and Ground Level Accommodations
Dear John, I to pray for ground level quarters, but God or Europe doesn't like me and refuses to play well with others, at least me. I need to finally learn to levitate. And yes, I would have loved you my friend as a personal valet - what fun we would have had ! And, referencing blood sausage, we had it in Ireland and it was awful. It was an odd rather bland taste and the texture a bit granular and neither Becky or I and I don't believe Terrie cared for it either, did you girl? Perhaps it is different in this region of France and perhaps we missed a gastronomical delight... We have come to realize that our journey does not stop even when we get back but continues at least until Winter Solstice/Natal/Christmas before our journey and work pauses to take a breath. We also are trying to get the blog caught up by entering our journals as we did them at the time, but they are still so relevent to us they do not feel "old". We are still quite deeply embedded and grappling with all that is and has happened to us. John, thanks for your continued support. It is so nice to receive them. Here's a big energetic hug for your achy breaky heart. Hope to give you a real one soon. Love Lettie P.S. Becky is blowing you kisses - falling like gentle rain on your beautiful bald head. :-)
14th December 2008

Blood Sausage
I did not enjoy the blood saugage. eeewwwwww!!! It felt pretty grotesque on my tongue, and had the consistency of a blood clot!! However, we met a very nice man on the bus in Scotland. (Remember him girls'? Wasnt Doogie his name? The man with the dyed pink hair?). Anyhow, he was a chef by trade, in Belfast. He told me that Blood Sausage is like any other culinary delight, or culinary fright for that matter. The taste and quality depends on the chef, he told me. Of course this must be true!! The love and intent put into it must make all the difference in Quality. Perhaps John--you had a blood sausage that was blessed. I have already set my intent to try it again someday. When I find a Chef like Doogie. Love you Guys!!

Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb