To Les Andelys by way of the bumpiest road in France


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Upper Normandy » Les Andelys
September 21st 2013
Published: September 21st 2013
Edit Blog Post

Left the aire at Beaugency in good time and headed straight to the Intermarche as need to do shopping today as it is Sunday tomorrow. Stocked up on a few ‘take-home’ essientials such as basil and walnut oil, to see me through for few months, and with lots of bottles of wine for Bob’s cellar as he is really getting fed up with the UK wine prices.

Destination for the night was Les Andelys and I chose the route as last year I found it boring which means I fall asleep.

I managed to chose a route which must contain more speed bumps per mile than any other in France. And that not helped by a road surface that was so bad in places that speed bumps were totally unnecessary. Poor Tandy was feeling quite shaken up by the time we eventually arrived at Les Andelys after crossing the river Seine. We will remember never ever to travel up the valley of the river Eure again.

A glorious summer day so I was disappointed to find the campsite pool was closed even though it is supposed to be open until the end of the month. Bar closed, no bread, etc. As this site charges top ACSI rate I have now ‘downgraded’ it in my records as, as well as not being able to have a swim, the sanitaires, which I noted as old and needing attention last year, are now a year older and even worse, the lights are on a timer and when they go off it is pitch black !

Will be using a different campsite next year.

There is a lovely walk along the river which we did last year but today we sat in the sun and read. My knee, which has been behaving very well, has decided to be a bother again, possibly the steps I’ve climbed in the last two day’s visit to chateaus. It did not want to go for a walk today so we didn’t.

Last day tomorrow. Heading for Calais and a last night on the aire by the beach.

Campsite is I'lle des Trois Rois at Les Andelys.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 13; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb