Bonjour from Paris!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Lyon
June 24th 2005
Published: June 24th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Bonjour!

We got into Paris on June 21st, so we've now been here 3 days. I'm just now posting (finally!) because the first time we came into the Internet cafe, I ended up with a French keyboard, with all the letters in different places. After being awake over 24 hours, it was way too much for my brain! The first day, after sleeping 12 hours, we did all the tourist stuff: climbed the Arc de Triumph, walked down Champs Elsysee, went in the Louvre to see the Mona Lisa, climbed the Notre dame tower, etc. etc. We've been eating a lot of tomato and mozzarella sandwiches, since they're very tasty and very cheap! Also, lots of pizza ( I know, we're not in Italy yet). And of course, we've been enjoying our fair share of wine. Its nice to just sit at the cafes for so long and enjoy it!
Anyway, yesterday my mom and I took the train out to Disneyland Paris. It was really fun, a lot like ours but smaller. The robot in Star Tours spoke french, but many of the rides were in English. We got to ride the new version of space mountain, which hasn't opened at home yet. It now goes upside down, and does corkscrews. It was so hot the beginning of the day, I thought we weren't going to make it very long, but the sky clouded over after lunch and we had a nice thunderstorm. The French are just like southern californians when it rains, you'd think they were melting! We did the Eiffel tower last night as well, it was so amazing, I don't think I ever realized how huge it was! You could see the whole city, it reminded me a lot of being on top of the Empire State building for the first time.
Today we hit all the sales on rue de rivoli (sp?). They have huge sales, but huge crowds as well, I think Fridays must be a national shopping holdiay. Tonight we're going out to dinner for my mom's birthday, then tomorrow we take off for Zermatt, Switzerland.!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0718s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb