Bonjour Chamonix


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Chamonix
November 10th 2007
Published: November 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Arrived in Chamonix with my snowboard on Monday night and moved into my new home for Winter. Went straight out to the late night snack bar for something to eat and had a complete memory blank of French but somehow managed to order and exchange pleasantries in Italian which was surreal ! Chamonix is quite a scenic alpine town surrounded by snowy mountains. Its snowing here and quite cold already, zero degrees today I think.

Until the season gets started properly we are working Mon-Fri with weekends off which is a novelty ! Everyone at the office seems very friendly so far and there a few familiar faces from my winter season 3 years ago. There's also quite a few other newbies so we've been out for apres drinks and office bowling last night for everyone to get know each other. Its quite relaxed here, we can borrow cars whenever we need them for shopping or airport runs and its no problem for vistors to come and stay.

I am living in a bijou studio apt about the size of a mobile home with kitchenette, shower and 2 sofabeds but heating is good ! Its in a typical alpine block about 10 mins walk to the office passing by a couple of pattiseries for morning croissants - I can feel the calories piling on just looking at them.

Today I have been finding my way around town, remembering to say 'merci' rather than 'grazie' and checking out the shops for extra hoodies and socks. Despite having 44 kgs of luggage, I didnt bring enough.

Tomorrow, if its clear, we're planning to take a trip up the Aiguille du Midi to check out the views. Another week in the office getting to grips with what I'm supposed to be doing, then we're all off to training on 21st in Alpe D'Huez, where I'll no doubt bump into a few more old friends.

Had my job offer letter this week for next Summer to go back to Venice, have agreed already with my Winter boss that I can finish here mid April and head back to the Italian sunshine, although that seems a million miles away at the moment.

My address here should you wish to send me Christmas cards, mince pies or fleecy socks :
c/o TUI UK Ltd
L'espace Montagne
140 Place du Poilu
74400 Chamonix Mont Blanc
France

Advertisement



Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0452s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb