Germany-Switzerland-France...


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Rhône-Alpes » Annecy
October 24th 2009
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Okay, so it's my turn to write again.

Laura and I spent most of the last 2 weeks apart. She left me in Freiburg (Germany) to start her French lessons in Annecy France. I quickly made friends with a couple guys from Vancouver and spent the next few days biking around the city and exploring. It was kind of refreshing to hang out with Canadian boys again, funny that I missed the dirty jokes and gross humour. From Freiburg I spent a day biking through the Black Forest with a really cool girl from Australia and, or course, at alot of Black Forest Cake.

Next I moved on Zurich, Switzerland to stay with my friend Raffa. Zurich is a beautiful city but spending 9 euros (about 16 dollars) on a small starbucks coffee did not quite fit my budget. Raffa and I then took a trip to Annecy to visit Laura for the weekend. In a manner that has now become the norm on our travels, we got there just in time to witness the Annecy Festival. Each year they celebrate the return of the cows from the moutain by parading a heard of livestock down the centre of
FrieburgFrieburgFrieburg

Blackforest in the back
town, each animal adorned in bows, bells and flowers. 😊 Interesting but smelly! ha. We also spent a day hiking with Laura and one of her new friends. For Raffa's last night in town some friends took us to this amazing bowling alley/restaurant/club. A random combo that can only be described as wicked-awesome!

I stayed in Annecy for a few more days while Laura was in school and amused myself by wandering through town and getting asked out by a clown (who informed me that if I went to dinner with him he would actually be in regular clothes, not clown clothes. wow). I moved on to Grenoble to stay with some friends of my mom's for a few days - they were incredibly welcoming and made sure I was able to try every kinda of wine, cheese and typical meal from the region. They also only spoke French, so my brain finally got some excercise again. Laura met me in Grenoble and we headed off to Switzerland to meet up with Charlotte and Kayla. The girls are here for a month so we'll likely spend the next few weeks causing trouble around Italy. Think they can handle us?


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Annecy FestivalAnnecy Festival
Annecy Festival

Soooo cute!
Raffa and IRaffa and I
Raffa and I

The gorgeous cannels of Annecy in the town centre
Annecy FestivalAnnecy Festival
Annecy Festival

Yes - these are the cows that were paraded down the streets with decorations on their heads -- now picture 50 more cows and a ton of other animals before them
View of AnnecyView of Annecy
View of Annecy

Photo from near the top of our hike


Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0229s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb