Provence


Advertisement
Published: June 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

We stayed in Nime in the smallest hotel room I have ever slept in in my life. The individuals that worked at this hotel were very considerate and helpful (though that might be due to the fact that Melissa and I had bunk beds in our room) and the area wasn't that bad, BUT my roommate and I were the last people of our group to get rooms so we got the small room. No, I am not bitter, but if we had stayed their more than one night I might have been. 😊

Anyway, today we spent most of the time traveling through the Provence area of France on our way to Barcelona. Our bus driver is no where near as cool as Antonio either. He ended up sleeping in his bus while in Cannes because he refused to get his bed sheets changed and he was no help whatsoever as far as loading and unloading all the luggage...I think he wants me to get hit by a car.

Alright, ANYWAY, so we stopped in Avignon, the Roman Aqueduct and Nimes today before going to the complete wrong hotel. In Avignon Sebastien got us tickets into the
avignonavignonavignon

This is one of the few pictures I took in the Popes Palace because there were no photos allowed inside.
popes palace. It looked like a huge ancient fortress to me. We could not take pictures inside but I bought a book on it and I might eventually scan pictures on here. After I bought the book I have set off every metal detecter I walk through, with and without the book in my purse, which has been quite obnoxious. I have had my purse searched though about 6 times today. Andrew, Cindy, Jenn and I ate really large and delicious sandwiches at a vender in Avignon and then we headed to the Aqueduct.

Here it was HOT. Andrew's group (the other crazy EF group) was already there and some of their people were cliff jumping into the river that passes under the aqueduct. Tiffany and Ryan climbed up and jumped off once, and Shan was going to dive off of it but they got caught and yelled at and told it was too dangerous to jump off of. It was probably a good idea because there was one girl who kept walking up to the edge like she was going to jump and then she would change her mind. I was afraid she was going to slip and
avignonavignonavignon

On the roof of the Popes Palace.
slide down the cliff. Plus, they were all in their underwear and one of the girls in Andrew's group thought it would be cute to jump the cliff in a thong. yuck.

Nimes was kind of a let down to be honest. After seeing THE Colosseum in Rome, the amphitheater in Nimes was just a smaller, still used copy in my opinion. When we left through the giftshop I had to be searched again for setting off the metal detector. Sebastien led us to a smaller parthenon, and talked Ian and I to pay 4.5Euro to see what was inside. It was honestly the biggest letdown of the trip...we went in expecting to see an ancient shrine, or wall paintings, or something but instead we end up watching a cheeseball 3D film!! I kid you not. Plus, the guy at the door gave me like 16Euros in change.

THEN, to cap of an exhausting day we get to a hotel in Nimes, completely unload (and I definitely have too much stuff) and find out we are at the wrong hotel. Some EF screw up. Luckily, Sebastien did have reservations at our hotel, EF just gave him wrong directions...Oh well, I can't wait until Barcelona!


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

view from the aqueduct.view from the aqueduct.
view from the aqueduct.

Ryan and Tiffany jumped from the cliff on the left.
NimeNime
Nime

This is where I layed down 4.5Euros...soo not worth it.


Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb