Cannes


Advertisement
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

beach outside hotelbeach outside hotelbeach outside hotel

We sat on this beach for a little over an hour. However, Shan and her roommates decided to do laundry, so they had to pick it up and we had to leave. We were going to come back because it was so nice and not that crowded, but we decided to go in town instead. (Ryan, Megan, )
Today was a beautiful day! Which sure beat yesterday, which consisted of lots rain and wind. I did get some sunburn on my back and my legs, however. We got into Cannes yesterday evening, and had the hardest time finding a decent dinner because everything seemed to shut down at like 8pm. Our hotel here in Cannes is the nicest hotel that we have visited...except they don't change out your towels everyday (but that is like one minus point out of like 50 pluses). There is a pool in the center of the hotel, and it is just a five minute walk to the beach (called the Pierre Vecines in les Cannes).
We eventually found our way to the African Queen restaurant where I managed to eat a 4Euro chicken sandwich that wasn't half bad. I have to admit that I am missing a good American dinner...including mashed potatoes. And steak. And fruit and vegetables.
Anyway, today was sweet. It has literally been the first day on our trip so far that I feel like I relaxed, we called it our 'vacation from our vacation'. We did not have to run around like crazy to try to get everything in. I did try to find a tkd school today again with no avail. I am hoping to find a martial arts school in Spain (where I at least know how to say a few words).
Today Shan and I and a few others walked to the beach from our hotel. We walked under the road in a tunnel barely tall enought for me, and emerged at this beautiful, sandy beach. The Mediterranean was a little chilly, but it felt good to be out in the sun. We then ate at the African Queen again (they gave us free drinks for coming back) and then ventured out toward downtown Cannes where the film festivals are held every year. We found a public beach there and layed out for a few more hours. It was my first time on a beach were women were allowed to go topless (I, however, kept my swimsuit on). There were also small blue jellyfish that washed up on the shore while we were there. Everywhere seemed to have this Hollywood, movie theme to it, even our hotel had sections designated Comedy or Action, etc. For dinner we went to the market and cooked our own food
beach downtownbeach downtownbeach downtown

These public beaches were more crowded, but they also had a lot more topless people so I decided to not take as much pictures of the beach...
in the hotel. Everyone stayed up very late...our rooms had little patios that faced in on the swimming pool so lots of the guys from our group and the other EF groups were hanging out. Apparently we were loud enough that we had to eventually disperse and many went out to the beach. Tomorrow we head somewhere in Provence I believe, on our way to Spain.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

mermaidmermaid
mermaid

Will is so pretty. I wanted to bury him verticle.


Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0995s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb