Je vais aller a la Nice


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Provence-Alpes-Côte d'Azur » Nice
June 24th 2008
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Bonjour and hello from Nice, france!

I am sitting here is our hostel and I thought I would take a moment to write a short entry for everyone! I am typing on a french keyboard so hopefully my mother will forgive the inevitable typos that will occur.

I am travelling with two of my flatmates, Max and Matt. We had an early flight so we had to catch our train to the airport at 4:10am. It was delayed, but we still made it in plenty of time. We flew easyjet, which was a first for me, and what I would call the caddilac of budget airlines. I slept the entire flight, it was awesome. We arrived in Nice on sunday morning, bright and early at 9:30 local time. We immediatly caught a bus from the airport to the town center. We had no idea where our hostel was, so we just winged it. Luckily Matt caught a glimpse of the road we needed and we eventually found the place.

We are staying in an eight person, mixed room. This is a new experience for me, but not as weird as I thought it would be. Actually, we lucked out and only 5 people have been in the room and any given time. We met a nice girl named kristina from Austrailia, who took an immediate liking to Max. It really is neat how easy it is to meet people when you have too. She has hung out with us most of the time since she is travelling Europe by herself for three months. That first day we immediately hit the beach. Nice's beaches are fantastic. The sun is shining constantly, never a cloud in the sky. The Med was extremely warm and comfortable. My mom would be proudm because I brought sunscreen and even applied it liberally. Unfortunatley, despite many applications I still managed to get roasted that day. I have been living it a world of being uncomfortable since. Nothing unbearable, but always a constant reminder of how powerful the sun really is.

After bumming around on the beach for the a few hours, we came back to the room and napped a bit. and by a bit, I mean 3 hours or so. We woke feeling a bit hungry, so we went to the old part of Nice and got dinner at a fritalian place. I call it fritalian because there is such a huge and equal influence on the town by both the italians and the french, it is its own cuisine. The place we found served pasts in huge skillets and Mussels in huge buckets. I got the Mussels, which where almost as nice as the mussels I had in Brussels a few years ago. Nikki, you know what I am talking about. The Spain/Italy Euro 2008 game was going on at the same time so after we ate, we got a few drinks and went to watched the end of the game. After the game we went out for more drinks where max and kristina got a little bit more comfortable. finally, we went to bed.

Yesterday, we woke up rearing to going to the beach again. We went to a little french place for breakfast which was a great hangover cure. The Coffee here is fantastic, better that River Road Denison people. WE went down to the beach again. The beach we have been going to is great. Not crowded, free, and fewer really old topless women. I went out later than everyone else because I wanted a small sun break. After the beach, we decided to go back to go tubing in the Med. for only 20 Euro, we have a GREAT time. WE then decided we were going to go to Monaco. Matt and I bought our tickets when Max told us there was an accident on the tracks and everything was delayed. We decided to go down to the Marina/Port to waste time until sunset. or the sunset, we climbed this old hill where there are castel ruins and a water fall. It was really pretty. Amanda, you would have really really enjoyed it. hopefully we can come back. After that, we grabbed pizza for a quick dinner and finally ended the night with a nighttime swim for about a half hour to cure our sunburns. Then it was time for bed as Max got more comfortable with kristina.

Today we woke up and decided to go straight to the fanous Russian church they have here. We got there at 11:55 and they shut down at noon. They didn't let us in......fricking french. WE left clearly devastated and went back to the old Nice in order to check out the flower Market. We ate Socca, a regional must, and got a picture with the Socca lady who famously appears in the Rick Steves Europe shows. We came back to the apartment and now I am here while the others are at the beach. I promise to put pictures up when I get home. This weekend coming I am going to Dublin, Ireland with Big Ben Webster, so that should be great. I hope everyone is well, and I can't wait to hear from you all!

Cheers!

Advertisement



25th June 2008

thanks buddy
you just gave me such a good wrap... i dont sound like a tart or anything! the dorm smells better now that youve left ;) dont think i know the gibsons but perth is a pretty small place so they are probly related to me and i dont even no it

Tot: 0.258s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.079s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb