Down and Out in Aix


Advertisement
Published: January 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Waitin' for the bus... in the darkWaitin' for the bus... in the darkWaitin' for the bus... in the dark

An odd self-portrait while waiting for the bus.
Today there was a session on culture shock that I went to. It was nice to know that the things I'm feeling are what other people have felt too. I'm tired and feel like this is all too big for me, that maybe I'm not the traveler I think I am. Apparently that's a normal feeling. And other people have told me they cry sometimes. I'm not doing that, but I do feel homesick sometimes. I haven't felt homesick in forever!

So funny story for today- I figured that I could pick up the bus at La Bourse and take it out on its run to the west of Aix, and then just ride it back in again and not have to wait in the cold of the Rotonde. Not so. At the end of the line the bus driver gets up and checks his meters and tells me this is the end of the line and I gots to get off. So I'm like oh crap, because it's dark out by now and I'm in the middle of nowhere, surrounded by condos and dark residential streets in the boonies of Aix. So I wait at the bus stop for fifteen minutes for the next bus to show up, in the cold and dark and silence. I felt pretty stupid. Lesson learned: wait at the fricking Rotonde!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0617s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb