Lest we forget


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Picardy » Saint-Quentin
August 31st 2022
Published: August 31st 2022
Edit Blog Post

Lest we forget



We had a quiet night after the nightmare the previous day so all is well in the Fairbairn camp.

So I have decided I am turning into my parents. When I was young my mum and dad used to take all us kids (5 of us) abroad each year to France and beyond and we used to visit all the cemeteries for the fallen solders and war museums - well anything to do with the war - yes one brother is called Sherman and the other is Robert Lee or Bob as we call him - i.e a bit of a clue there i.e. Sherman Tank and Major Robert Lee

Near the campsite there is a British cemetery Seraucourt-le-Grand so we decided to walk up and see it. It was quite a sobering view when you saw all the individual graves. It contained 1,378 graves of which 1,371 were British, 5 Canadian and 2 Australians. Would you believe it, only 496 of these bodies could be identified which really made you think again about how futile war is. The great majority of the men buried here were killed in 1918. As you can imagine walking around and most of the gravestones had no names it was very poignant.

So after this sobering thought we walked back to the campsite and decided we would have a game of piquant. As you all know I am very competitive so when Mike won I was not a happy chappy at all.

Again we had quite a quiet night and Mike has been looking at the map to see how we get to our next site which will be near Epernay which is the champagne region - so bubbles on the card for tonight.

Whilst packing away we had the first of todays nightmare when Mike could not get the awning to close. So as always I said look at YouTube the font of all knowledge. Well this did not help one iota which is very unusual is all I can say. So I said take the tension off the side that would not close and hey presto the awning closed so that is another learning curve. Another thing I can add to my CV Awning sorter!!!

Let’s hope the motorhome immobiliser does not give us problems today. I think we are going to stick to the local route to Epernay and maybe see a bit of the countryside instead of just motorways. But, as I’m always telling Mike when he is driving to keep his eyes on the road, maybe it will be payback time and I won’t get to see the countryside after all.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.343s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb