Going Home


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Paris
May 14th 2010
Published: May 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Final Days


I have now spent nearly a fortnight in three different places. Not only have they been different places, but they have presented quite different learning and growing experiences.

London


My son, Daniel lives in the heart of London, and I wanted to visit him, but not really to have to stay in an already crowded inner city flat. So I opted to stay with an old friend at Gerrards Cross, where I was going to be able to catch up with her and would have my own room.

I went into London itself, and Daniel and I walked its streets, riverside and parks for three days. Did the London Eye, Battersea Park, south bank of the Thames. Ate traditional meals.

The Cotswolds


Then it was down to Oxford then the Cotswolds to stay with another old friend from Shrivenham days for the weekend. Walked Oxford and two delightful walks around the villages where she lives. Daniel came down on the Saturday. Missed the station he was supposed to get off at, but we found him and then had a delightful day showing him a bit of where he spent a year of his childhood, as well as a gentle tour of some typical Cotswold towns.

Paris


The last four days have been in Paris. Being alone has had both pluses and minuses. Can start and finish when one wants, but one loses enthusiasm when the experiences are not being shared. And it can be lonely when there is no-one to talk to in the evening. I realised how much staying with friends and being with Daniel had meant in coming down from the Camino experience.

I also realised that I was much more tolerant of the changes brought on by the vagaries of mass transit and discrepancies about opening times between the guide I was using and the reality on the ground. There was plenty to see and do in London and Paris, and really no need to get upset because something wasn't open. Mind you, I was disappointed not to be able to visit the classic French catering equipment suppliers, d'Hellerin, when they were open. The window display gives no hint to the treasures that I expected to find inside. Elaine will no doubt be pleased that I didn't manage to acquire another kitchen gadget.






Additional photos below
Photos: 42, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.263s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0571s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb