Now that it is over ...


Advertisement
Spain's flag
Europe » Spain » Galicia » Santiago de Compostela
May 2nd 2010
Published: May 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I ended up walking about 900km over the 33 days on the Camino. This was measured on a GPS, but that does not mean this figure is accurate. There are some common problems, such as narrow old city streets and not getting a good fix in heavily wooded areas. Also, I didn't always carry my GPS when I was walking around in the evening.

Photos and maps for each days walk have now been added to the individual blog entries. You will need to revisit each entry to see that day's photos. You can open a window or tab with larger version of the photos by clicking on them. Somehow it defaults to opening in a new window, but you can open it in a new tab if your browser supports that.

A map of the whole Camino route that I took is at the blog entry titled Some Administrivia. If the routes are not displaying well in the map, ie too big or too small, or the route has disappeared completely, there is a 'Fit Route' button that you can press.

My thanks to everyone who sent messages. They were especially meaningful, particularly when they helped me through the down days when pulling out seemed like an option.




Advertisement



16th April 2022

Thank you!
That was absolutely delightful, Doug! I'm not too sure I want to walk nearly a thousand kilometres myself but I do admire your determination. I'd like to do the Camino before I get too old and frail. Your notes gave a good overall impression of the beauties and challenges of the pilgrimage. And thanks for the photos. It looks most picturesque. I was in Europe at the same time, doing a RTW with my wife. Kyoto, Istanbul, and then the BookCrossing convention in Amsterdam when the volcano thing kicked in. We had a week to kill basically, and I was thinking about hiring a car and driving down to Spain but we had some friends and instead we wedged five of us - and our bags - into a Golf and headed for Switzerland under blue and empty skies. It was fun and I saw a lot of places I wouldn't have had in my normal travels. So glad to drop off one friend in Switzerland and have just the four of us. At least I wasn't walking up hill and down dale. Thanks, again! Peter

Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0643s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb