south of france my aunt fanny!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Millau
November 26th 2010
Published: November 26th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Salut! (Hi)
I thought I would update my blog for a few mini updates and a few rants!
So we now have friends 4 girls from my BTS class. BTS is two years after A-level so they are between 21 and 24 years old, and they can drive and take us places 😊 They are called Laure, Alisson, Armandine and Coralie.
Tuesday night they invited us out to the chinese buffet which was gorgeous and actually resembled the chinese food i am used to. It was only 10 euros for a huge tray to take away so we all got one and ate back at our flat.
As thursday was thanksgiving, courtney and I invited the girls round and Paula and sheila ( the spanish asssitants) around for a thanksgiving meal. So Wednesday after I had worked in the morning courtney and i prepared most of the meal as we wouldnt have time on thurday. First thing first the turkey. Courtney got the bird out of the bag and much to our disgust it still had its neck, bbwwwwooorrrk!! Along with most of its feathers, its feet had jst about been cut off but it was evident they were once there and it still had its heart and liver inside.... I couldnt touch it so courtney had to cut its neck off altho we didnt have very good knives so a lot of snapping and twisting was invovled! When the turkey was prepared we realised it had a bit of a hunch back so we named the scabby thing quasi.
We cooked the turkey and the mashed potaotes and decided to do everything else on thrusday before out guests arrived.
On thursday I had work, I arrived outside the 'hotelerie' as I have a class with the professional school at the lycee, they are training to work in hotels or restaurants as chefs or waiters. The room was locked, some of the students were all stood outside but the teacher was no where to be seen. Their level of english is not very good so with a bit of franglais we decided I would still do the lesson despite the lack of teacher i just had to get a key so we could get in. I really enjoyed the lesson and it is the only one i will do a bit of translating in as there level is so low but they all appreciate my help and are a really nice group, plus it helps that there is only 6 of them. I had a few more lessons and then I finished at 5. I went to catch the bus. The bus was so busy it seemed the world and their mother had finished at the same time as me. The bus was really hot and smelly (20 french students in a confinde space, never a winner!) I started to get really light headed and couldnt focus on anything, I felt like i was going to faint so I decided to get of the bus at a random stop, as I was trying to get off I fell over all the students, I must have looked wasted I just couldnt walk straight. I got off the bus in the pouring rain and sat on a freezing wet bench. I felt awful. I rang courtney to ask her to help me but it turned out i was closer to the school than i was the flat so I ran paula the spanish assistant to ask her to come find me and help me home. This was a task within its self to try explain in french that i wasnt well and had nearly fainted and she needed to come find me. Luckily she understood and her and sheila the other spanish assistant came running like superwomen to my rescue. It seemed a long walk home with one at each side of me holding me up, i looked like had been stupified! (sorry harry potter refrence)
back at the flat the girls fussed around me for ages and eventually after some food and a glass of coke, I just rested for a while until our guests came for the meal.
The meal was lovely and courtney had worked really hard all day to prepare the rest of it and make the final touches. We had turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes with garlic and cream cheese, green bean cassarole ( a new one for me but delicious! green beans with mushrooms and garlic with crispy onions on the top) and gravy! we had apple crisp (like and apple crumble) with icecream and caramel sauce for pudding it was lloooooovvveeellllyy! I didnt stay up much longer after the meal as i still didnt feel right and I had work the next day.
Today I had an eeiry start to the day, it was boiling in my bed room so i turned my radiator off, then i went up stairs to have breakfast and brush my teeth and when i came back down my radiator was making a noise like it was still on so i checked it and it was on number 3, i swear i left it inbetween 0 and 1... spooky!
My first lesson was at 10 but claire hadnt told me she wouldnt be there all day so i wondering around like a headless chicken trying to find her thinkin i had got the room wrong only to be told she was in toulouse.. fab! I had a lesson at 11 which went really well and then i stayed to have lunch with paula before leaving. Finally my weekend has begun. Although I think I am jsut going to take it easy and plan my lessons for the week be nice to have a lie in! 😊

a bientot toute le monde! ( See you later everyone)

Advertisement



26th November 2010

oooh no to all you beloved hp fans i meant petrified not stupified, my bad!

Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0574s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb