France, grow a pair!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Millau
December 1st 2010
Published: December 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I had relaxing weekend doing absolutley nothing! Apart from lesson plans and venturing out once for a bit of shopping and a hot chocolate 😊 saturday we had some snow but it had gone in a matter of hours, and was rather disappointing!
I woke up monday morning with a cold 😞 I got up and walked to my favourite place in france trusty old lidl 😊 I went to go get a few supplies and it was nice to get out the house.
I had a lesson at 5 so I set off to the lycee just after 4 as I needed to print off my worksheets for the lesson. Unfortuantley the school has a serious lack of computers and the two in the staffroom were been used so i treked around the school trying to find another computer to print of my work, I swear this school hasnt developped since the middle ages!! Then next problem was as the stupid school hasnt sorted me out a photo copying card I have to go to this random woman in a poky old office and ask for hers. When I went to use her card she was on the phone and said sorry can u can back in a bit im on the phone, no lady ive wasted more of my time than I wanted already and I have a lesson soon so just through me the damn card and you can carry on your phone call deal?
My lesson was with the hardest group of kids I have. There level is really weak and they are clearly not interested in learning english, however I percivered and the kids seemed to enjoy my lesson. That night I went home and made spaghetti bolognaise and chilled for the rest of the night. Courtney had also bought me some cold and flu tablets so I took the night time which happily knocked me out for the night
Tuesday, I had a lesson at 2 so I got up and got ready. Court and I went out as I needed to pick up a few things, including a rubber. The reason I mention this is the night before I asked courtney if she had a rubber I could borrow. She was horrified and kindly informed me in America a rubber is a condom... nice as I explained I just wanted to rub out a mistake I had made she quickly changed her expression and handed me her 'eraser' she has been chuckling about it ever since.
My first lesson on tuesday went really well, and impressively I have learnt all the kids names in just a week 😊 after this lesson I had a two hour gap until the next one so I decided to sort out my lessons up until christmas. As I work over a two week period (week a and b) I realised next week would be the last time I see the kids in them lessons before christmas, so only one thing for it, lets play christmas bingo for them lessons 😊 so the rest of my tow hours was spent thinking up words and definitions for the game. I figured as long as it was all in English no body was going to complain.
Im going get some chocolate santa lollys ( 20 for 89 cent ) for the winners and some chocolate coins for the runners up.
Ric told me he thought the kids were too old for playing bingo, however I explained im sure a group of teenagers would jump at the chance to play a game rather than work, especially at the prospect of winning chocolate, no one is too old for chocolate!!
My last lesson of the day was ok too, I met up with the teacher before hand and she gave me the material to use so I didnt have to prepare anything.
When I got back I was freezing so I made a delicious stew for tea and then watched a film before going to bed.
Today I have been very busy, it is my first official wednesday day off (wednesday is supposed to be my day off however one of the teachers keeps roping me in at 9 in the morning to help with her lesson, well not today!) I have spent the morning cleaning the flat, doing the washing up, doing my washing and preparing my christmas bingo 😊 but now im stuck for something to do for the rest of the day...
I might plan my lessons for the week that I come back as I wont have much time when I get back and im definitley not doing any over christmas! I dont even wanna hear the word france back in england!
Anyway ciao for now, just a quick update to keep you all informed.
By the way its DECEMBER!! only 17 more sleeps in france till I home :D

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.039s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0465s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb