Catch up


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Midi-Pyrénées » Millau
November 8th 2010
Published: November 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So yet again my blog has been negelcted! Last week I didnt have a single lesson, monday I went for my only hour of the day only to be told that the teacher didnt need me. I had another hour on tuesday but christine had forgot to tell me the students were on work experience so I had no class again! Then wednesday onwards was another national holiday!
Last week proved to be a rather dull week, it rained all the time! (Although im sure it was alot better than home!

From tuesday to friday, Dan, an english assistant in the next town came to stay with us, however with the bad weather there wasnt a lot we could show him however it was nice to have some more company. On friday another spanish assistant arrived so courtney went to meet her while I stayed in an skyped my beautiful nephew for his 3rd birthday 😊
I spent the afternoon with Sheila the spanish assistant. She is really nice from Seville in Spain she is 28 and this is her 4th year as an assistant in France so woop for me another person that knows a hell of a lot more french then me. I showed her around the town and that night courtney sheila and I were invited to Giles house for dinner.

Gile picked us up around half 7, he lived just outside of Millau in a very nice house. His wife Francoise was lovely. They had also invited some friends Didier and I think the womans name was Vero but I cant pronounce it to save my life let alone spell it. They too worked in the schools.
For dinner we had potatoes, cheese and various meats like salami and ham. They had a raclette which was a grill/hot plate in the middle of the table. You each got a mini pan and spatula. You put the cheese in the pan and put it under the grill and then you could put the meat on top to fry then you poured the melted cheese over a potato. It was delicious. This was followed by a balsamic vinegar dressed salad. Then we had apple struddle and icecream to finish. This is when I became the entertainment for the night. They had given us a teaspoon to eat the struddle with and I could cut it with a teaspoon so in the end they had to give me a knife and fork.. how english!
The night was nice but I certainly got the feeling they werent a fan of the english and it made me feel awkward especially seen as sheila and courtney know a lot more french than I do I just felt the silent english mute having to listen to my country been the butt of the jokes, without a response...
Saturday court and I decided to get some food in as we were going out to watch a band that night and after previous experience we have realised sunday is standard for a hangover! So after stocking up on lots of junk food that will help us through out hangover we went back to get ready for the night ahead.
There was a band on at the bar that we like, and I feel we have become regulars there. When we arrived Guillame the boss was very welcoming ' Bonsoir Jo et Courtney' maybe we go in there too often if he knows our names.. The band were really good and although the lead singer looked like a gay cowboy he had the most amazing voice. A group of guys came to sit with us as there was no other space. we werent complaining as they ended up buying a pitcher that we could share. Guillame also gave a few free drinks so definitley a good night.
One thing that was extremely strange was after the band finished a song nobody clapped, so it was just me and courtney clapping like losers in the corner! We also wanted to dance but the french obviously dont know how to do that either so after a few more drinks we showed them how it was done 😊 really enjoyed my self and there is band or music there every saturday night so we may go there quite alot in the next few weeks.
Sunday morning, I woke WITHOUT a hang over I was very surprised but it felt good been able to do things without wanting to die! We cleaned the house and I did a few preparations for my lessons. We then took a walk in the town as it was a nice day, where we say sheila. I have decided we have definiltey become french because then we say a guy that we

Advertisement



15th November 2010

then we saw a guy that we know and the couple from the night at gilles, and to everyone we saw we did the 3 kisses on the cheek thing. Its a bit of a ballache that every tiem you want to say hi how are you to some one you have to kiss them all 3 times, but hey it shows we actually have friends!!
16th November 2010

love u
dont worry love they dont speak ebygum it nice that i can cacht up with u dad

Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0672s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb