Happy St. Patricks Day!!!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Montpellier
March 17th 2006
Published: March 17th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello to all! Wow, I know its been a bit since I last wrote in here, but I haven't had the urge to write lately, so u dont have to worry about me anymore....lol

Last weekend I went to the town of Arles which is about an hour by car from Montpellier with a friend of Pamela, my host mom, and three other americans. It's a nice city and it reminds a lot of Nimes with the big ampitheatre, etc. We spent the day there and even saw a bull show, (it wasnt exactly a bull fight like they have in spain..because in france they dont kill the bulls). We also went to the Roman baths and Roman theatre and visited a museum or two about the history of Arles. It was a very windy and cold day so that would be my only complaint. When its windy here in southern France, let me tell you, its WINDY...and 10 times cold.

I also went to the zoo here in Montpellier and although its nothing like the Philadelphia Zoo back home, it was still pretty interesting. We saw lions, bears, monkeys, and many other animals. There were many paths for walking, running, biking, so it acts a lot like a park too for people to come and do some exercise etc.

The past few weeks have gone by fast and I can't believe its already the 17th of March. Tout va bien a Montpellier and I'm doing well. Classes are going well and it's been quite interesting here these past few weeks with la greve here in France. At the University of Paul University III, all the buildings (except for mine because i go to the school for foreigners) are blocked off by the students because they are protesting the CPE, Contrat Premiere Embauche, which is a work contract for the young people, although i wont get into it too much, cause im not an expert of this and i have some french people who read this blog too and i dont want to make any mistakes, lol. Yesterday there was a big manisfestation in the Place de la Comedie, protesting against the CPE and I believe it is happening again tomorrow.....for me its quite amusing, ah the french, its why i love them. lol.

Oh and one last thing.....I saw a play last night with Pamela, my host mom and another american i live with. We saw "Le Dernier Jour d'un Homme Condamne" and it was good, although i didnt understand everything. It was a one man show too. But it was something new to do and I'm glad I went.

voila voila, thats all for now.....

A bientot!

Kristen 😊



Advertisement



17th March 2006

St Patrick's day
Do they celebrate St Patrick's day?
17th March 2006

Yes! Happy St. Patrick's Day!
Arles is so cool (that is where we saw the car on fire) and I know what you mean about the wind! You are the best K Reilly and I miss you.
18th March 2006

Happy St. Patrick's Day 2 u 2!
Belated Happy St. Patrick's Day to you too! Missed you at your parents party. Love hearing of all your experiences, so keep them coming when you can. Glad you are having such a good time. Elise and I are envious, in a good way of course. Miss you. Take care.---Mrs.P.
18th March 2006

John Kerr misses you!
Hey Frenchie... First I will start out by saying that I miss you...ALOT! Also, did you want to be roommates for the upcoming year? Because if you do, that would be amazing and awesome and can be described by all other good adjectives. (Sarah and I were talking about the possibility of applying to live in Connelly? Would you be interested?) Well let me know, so I can proceed appropriately. I'm glad you're having fun. Hope to hear from you soon!

Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb