Coucou!


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Languedoc-Roussillon » Montpellier
March 6th 2006
Published: March 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Montpellier!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tout va tres bien! It's been one month since I've arrived here in France and I can't believe it. Much has been happening since I've written last time and I'm sure you have all been anxious to hear news from me.

This past weekend I returned to Albertville in the Alpes and visited the family I stayed with during the summer of 2004. It was great to see them again and I think they enjoyed seeing me again. I left for Lyon after my class and arrived in Albertville a little after 9:30PM. Coralie greeted me "a la gare" and I was reminded that the number of bises(cheek kisses) in France is different depending on where you are....in Montpellier they do 3 bises whereas chez Coralie they only do 2 bises....really its too much to remember! I'm so used to it being 3 here in Montpellier that I never got used to only 2 in Lyon. lol. Saturday, it rained all day but we walked around town and Conflans for a little because who wants rain to stop you from having fun? We had a delicious lunch around noon and then rented the movie The Interpreter. It was a good movie although I'll need to see it in English because I didn't understand everything. lol After the movie we played "Qui Veut Gagner des Millions" (Who wants to be a Millionaire) for a little, and I also looked at pictures from when she was in Ireland and of course the pictures of her stay chez moi! Later that night they took me out to dinner at a restaurant in the centre ville in Albertville.

Sunday we returned to Lyon by car since Coralie was returniing to school and she gave me the grand tour of Lyon. lol. We first went to Coralie's residence to drop our stuff off and move her back in before venturing out into town. We walked a lot during the day and she took me to the "Vieille" Ville and the important things to see in Lyon. For lunch she took me to a "Bouchon" which is a typical Lyonnaise restaurant and I had some very good Lyonnaise food. For dessert I had Tarte Tatin, and I think Uncle David would be very happy to know that his tastes just as good as it does in France. We also spent a good amount of time at the park where we walked the whole perimeter and in the middle there was a little "zoo" with elephants, lions, giraffes, bears, etc. It's nothing like the Philadelphia Zoo, but it was cute. We also walked around the greenhouses there and there were plants from all over the world...even the United States was represented. Overall it was a fun weekend, although a bit tiring near the end.

Sunday night was exciting because everyone returned from their vacations and donc the appartment is alive again.

Tout va tres bien ici and I'm enjoying the city of Montpellier. It's an exciting town and there is always something to do. Oh and Dad, I met a Jean yesterday when I was at Coralie's residence...so voila ...."Jean has a long moustache" lol, although this Jean doesn't really have a moustache but I'll keep my eye out for one.

Voila.....

Hope all is well at home and take care.

GROS BISOUS a tous et a bientot!

kristen

Oh a coralie: merci encore pour tout et a la prochaine!

Advertisement



6th March 2006

Sounds like fun! I was hoping you'd write another blog soon, because we played Mortal Kombat in your honor last Thurs. night, and I thought you should know. :) Adam was Bo Rai Cho, and he found a website that has a bunch of the moves listed...anyway, not only did he discover how to make him vomit, but there's also a fatality where he sets his opponent on fire by farting into a torch. :D We so have to play when you get back. We all missed you, but s'good you're having fun. A bientot!
7th March 2006

Ca nous a aussi fait plaisir que tu viennes, et i had fun this week too! See you!
7th March 2006

ps
au fait... you are very welcome, and j'espère que nous pourrons voir tes parents l'an prochain! (lol)
8th March 2006

Bravo!!
Je suis contente de voir que tu visite beaucoup de lieux dans la région, c'est important de voir un peu les différentes villes et régions. Si tu as la chance de te présenter aux examens DELF B1 ou B2 à la fin du programme, essaie de le faire c'est une bonne expérience et tu pourras gagner un diplôme. J'espère pourvoir offrir les examens l'année prochaine; je travaille avec l'Ambassade et CIEP pour ramener les examens aux Etats-Unis. Bonne journée. MJC

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0483s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb