Le chateau


Advertisement
Published: May 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Life at the chateau has been pretty tough, it is not that big as chateaux go, 6 or eight bedrooms, but a great kitchen which used to be the mini baronial hall, lovely pool and grounds in a the lovely little village of Salles sur l'Hers, Did a few km on the bike through countryside made famous by van Gogh, most recently to Mirepoixwhich has a beautiful mediaeval square, My Frnch is improving beyond all expectations and even if I am averaging between one and five words in ten depending on how quickly it is being spoken. I find I can say "oui, oui"and "d'accord" at the appropriate time and the locals are very patient.

Traveling by train from Toulouse to Castelnaudray I was chatting with some French who were on a walking holiday, after explaining that I was Australian not English I said that I was trying as much as possible to speak French, "En France, on parler francais" They laughed and said that I was clearly not Anglais!

went to Carcassone for a day, lovely old town surrounded by the new town. The old one has Roman constructions still in use, the old town is a bit touristy but the season has not yet arrived so getting around is easy. I have only encountered one rude old woman, when I asked if I was on the right road to Salles sur l'Hers she answered that shed did not understand me which of course she did, when I said, "désolé, je ne vois pas votre aide auditive" sorry i did not see your hearing aid, she understood that alright! On the whole though everyone, including me has been having a good laugh at my accent!

Went to see
">Rodigo y Gabriela last night but it started to pour with rain and as they were not due on until 11.30 pneumonia seemed too high a price to pay. Did see some of the other acts though and they were great although it has to be said there are a significant number of young persons.

Back in Toulouse now for a few days before heading back to the chateau and then heading to the Med and on to Barcelona. The apartment in Toulouse has a choice of three patisseries at the ned of the street, just as well I bought the bike!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0775s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb