it is hot, humid and raining


Advertisement
Asia
May 15th 2014
Published: May 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I'm more of a cool climate kind of guy, so apart from the amazing food that is everywhere in Singapore; I am really not sold. It was about three am Canberra time by the time I got to bed but I managed to get about 7 hours sleep

The Santa Grand Hotel has really comfortable beds and great aircon, it also has a pool so when it stops raining I Thought I may go and try it out. Well the rain stopped around 9.30 but I decided to go for a walk instead of a swim. The hotel is just a short walk from the Indian part of town so after a couple of pieces of toast and the worst cup of coffee since I gave up Golden Roast I set off.

Mustafa's is little india, a department store that occupies about three blocks, it has literally hundreds of retailers selling everything from cosmetics to foot massages. I settled for a new shirt so I could throw out the one I was wearing. It had seen better days and so it returned to where these things come from. The hot weather was also the reason I found myself bizarrely sitting in the Chen Siew Lan unisex beauty salon watching an Indian dude getting his grey bits coloured. This includes the eyebrows.



Singapore would be much better if it were not so bloody humid.. Now I am waiting in the unisex beauty salon for the Indian gentleman to change colour. Of course I always come to Singapore for a quick trim.

With a day to kill and a loathing of being sweaty I opted for a movie. Naturally the list of available flicks and my list of must see new releases were irreconcilable so I did the only sensible thing and bought a ticket to Godzilla. I am not sure what David and Margaret had to say about this movie but I cannot imagine it would have been very flattering, nonetheless it was subtitled in Chinese and it was kind of Asian but to call it a load of shite would be to reputation ally damage shite. Derivative, over use of CGI and a plot line that made The Castle look like a Russian novel bought to life.

On the way back to the Hotel I stopped in at Raffles to look at the other half and they looked a lot like the rest of us. I headed out to the airport with plenty of time to spare and had the best thing of the day, a cool shower and a cold beer. The barman tells me I am not pulling my weight and is insisting I move on to the top shelf.

Next stop Shanghai, briefly, and then on to Paris (in the spring).

Oi barman...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb