Odd Travel Observations


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France
May 28th 2023
Published: May 28th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Why do we get labeled the ugly or privileged Americans?? Check out this gal taking up THREE seats in the crowded waiting area at C de Gaulle. Wait, she is French!!! But the loud American has long been passed by the loud Frenchman. But now, I vote for the totally unfiltered Chinese tourists. They figure we can't understand a word and have carte Blanche to throw in the F word as well!! I met the hardest working flight attendant on my Aegean Air flight from Paris to Athens. She was the Everyready bunny and Harriet Nelson combined!!! Those of you headed to Europe this summer, be warned. This is the busiest I have seen Europe in the last 3 years. And prices are still going up. I would increase your budget by at least 33%. Even the Cuban cigars I bought for a buddy went up about 30%!! So, according to my Greek brothers, who are the worst tippers? Asians, Canadians, Americans, the English? No, by unanimous decision, it is the Aussies!!! Thessaloniki takes a bit of patience, then when you find the great local places, all he'll breaks loose, in a good way of course. Hey, I even found real Turkish Delight! I found THE local kabab place, totally by accident. I wanted a beer to go with my cheese pie for lunch. I saw the best kababs being consumed, only by locals. I went back for dinner. Kababs, tomato, onion, bread, friend potatoes, and an Alpha beer for about $12 Euro. Huge numbers of smokers here, young, old, both sexes, ash trays everywhere!! We are spoiled back home. And that may explain why everyone coughs constantly here! The evening stroll is alive and well here. Still in Paris, not one of my favorite places, but soon headed to Athens to see my adopted Greek brothers. Why would you pay more for a bottle of cologne than for a nice bottle of French champagne. Vueve, Moet, and Deutz are all 45 Euros, and the stinky stuff is even more!!! Even at duty free shops!!! I stayed at the Moxy by Marriott at CDG Airport, which caters to young people. But I saw mostly older travelers, and many foreigners. Perhaps it is the lower price, free breakfast, cool and minimalist interiors, or ?? But I would recommend Moxy to all of you. So, the loudest travelers are not Americans or Europeans. They are Chinese!! They have no "eff" in filter!!! I also hate being greeted with "nihau", so I correct whoever said it!!! One of my Greek brothers moved out of Athens for a new job. I am going to take the train or bus to visit him. He also is looking for a new girlfriend, as she would not leave Athens. Hotels in Europe are back to cleaning and changing the sheets every day!!! The economy here is going quite well, but I do see several businesses have either changed hands, upgraded, or closed, much like elsewhere in the world, post covid. In the Athens Aegean Air lounge, nice food. But best of all, shuttle bus arrives at door when time to board!!! And Biz class gets bussed over first, both on and off the plane!!! Would you believe Greek ballads sound like Mariachi? I swear, I thought I was in LA or San Diego. Surprise, surprise. My friend and Greek brother, George (Giordos) came down to visit his former co-workers here in Athens. He may join me for dinner tonight. Question: Name something worse than the USPS??? The Greek postal system, makes molasses look like fast!!! I was up until midnight last night. My food, wine and eco-cycle tour in Crete was simply magnificent. My new Crete friends invited me to their village on my next visit!! I met the Human ATM machine, Alexander the Great, and Chris, the financier/developer from San Diego. Back to Paris for the day, and on to Clermont Auvergne for more wine tasting, cycling, and long days of food and wine. Maybe I will find the perfect escargot??? I did at Brasserie Madeleine. Odd sighting on Paris metro today. Middle aged bald white dude gives his seat to African lady and her daughter. Never would happen back home!! But in contrast, as we boarded my flight to Auverge, nobody would help this African lady with a baby in one hand, and her roller bag in another. So despite my carryon stuff, I walked up and carried her bag down to boarding area. Many young strong men there, but the oldest guy there had to help her! Paris is really busy with tourists!! And I encountered no bullsh*t this time!!! Why do the little twits here wear a jacket size too small?? So, white sneakers are still a big deal here, adults, teens, and of course, the ubiquitous tourists. And many of the sneakers are the old style Converse Chuckie Taylor style. Not once today did anyone check my train tickets!! Free rail trips in Europe for all?? No wonder France is having so many issues! I had a bowl of what the French call poke'. It was really a paper bowl of rice with some stuff on top. The best part was the teriyaki sauce! My bad for thinking it could be edible!! I take back what I said about French tourists. They are still numero uno in obnoxious behavior! Chinese a strong runner up. The Muslims here feel great discrimination. I met an Algerian fellow last night at dinner. We had quite a conversation. When I told him about not getting a haircut in town until I was in junior high, he went bonkers. He thought discrimination didn't exist in the US!!! I can't wait to get out of sleepy, comatose southern France. I would have left after the 1st day, but most hotels now are nonrefundable!! Being here is like watching paint dry in the cold of winter!!! I knew I should stay in Crete or head to the Balkans. My bad, very, very bad! So cafe culture is big here. But notice the old people dine inside, the young smokers outside?? Big elections coming here. I see a few little rallies and protests. Nothing dangerous. Nobody seems to care. Two long train rides yesterday to arrive in Frankfurt. But I saw Sting this morning!! It seems Europe has a goodly share of recent African immigrants compared to the US. A guy asked me despite my perfect German, if I was from Korea! I told him I was an American of Japanese ancestry. He was in total disbelief!!! Country roads, take me home, to the place, I belong!!! So glad to be home. I missed my three crazies!!! And I think they missed me. PS: This is probably my last trip to Europe. I really need to get back to South America, and of course, Asia.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 16; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb