Day 1 Paris – 1st Arrondissement (Part 1 of 4): Jardin des Tuileries


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
December 2nd 2013
Published: March 25th 2016
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Paris Day 1


Leaving the Place de la Concorde I headed into the Jardin des Tuileries (still no idea how to pronounce it…). I saw:


• Statues
• Cool buildings on the northern side (one day I’d love to live in one but I doubt I could ever afford it)
• Fountains
• Open pathways
• View of the Musée du Louvre to the Eastern end.



I enjoyed the garden as by this stage the sun had come out and was warming me up. Coming from Sydney, I’m not used to so many trees without leaves, but they looked kind of romantic laying on the path.

I could also make out the Musée d'Orsay on the other side of the river through the trees.



The gardens were created by Catherine de Medici as the garden of the Tuileries Palace in 1564, it was eventually opened to the public in 1667, and became a public park after the French Revolution.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.081s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb