Where is God's name am I?


Advertisement
France's flag
Europe » France » Île-de-France » Paris
June 24th 2006
Published: June 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Nose Pool at the Jardins du LuxembourgThe Nose Pool at the Jardins du LuxembourgThe Nose Pool at the Jardins du Luxembourg

The biggest man I've ever known apparently drowned somewhere around here.
Bonjour all you people,

So, I think it's now been 2 days in Paris, I'm not really sure. In fact, I don't even know what time it is. I'm currently sitting in the middle of the lobby of our Paris hostel which is located right at the apex of the party/ghetto/very Vermont & Adams looking part of Paris near Republique Metro Station. I'm surrounded by 3 clocks, one says that it's 7:05, one, 5:45 and one, 1:10. It's dark and late, that's all I know for sure.

Now for the good stuff. We came in via train from London which of course means the Channel Tunnel. I regret to inform you that the tunnel (Or Chunnel, as no one here calls it) is not nearly as interesting as you'd think. I'm more or less certain that we were all asleep when we entered it and none of us came out of our delerium long enough to say for certain whether we'd been in that particular tunnel for 10 seconds or 20 minutes. When we finally arrived in Paris after some lovely French countryside, the language barrier hit us like a ton of bricks. Luckily, thanks to Stace, and to
Man Throwing... Rock?Man Throwing... Rock?Man Throwing... Rock?

I never knew Devan could be so Cubist.
a limited degree, myself, we were able to (finally) find an ATM and the metro stations. We're all just a smidge worried about Prague now as none of us know a word of... Prague-ish. Yesterday, we traveled as much as we could by embarking on a paid tour; one of the few paid touristy style tours we will be taking on this trip. My time is up here so all I can say for now is that there is no way to see Paris quite like from atop a Segway...



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

I think the ThinkerI think the Thinker
I think the Thinker

This amusing picture in front of the thinker would've been a lot cooler if we hadn't had to wait in a line of tourists taking amusing pictures in front of the thinker.
Lovin' the LouvreLovin' the Louvre
Lovin' the Louvre

Why just appreciate art when you can improve it with the addition of a few friends... and some whimsical poses.


24th June 2006

Gay Paris.
Ah oui. jenez se paz? What. Tell me your eating lots of street food!! Their crepes are bloody amazing. They've got ones filled with cheese and meat or whatever you want too besides just Nutella and assorted fruits/sugars. I forget what their called though. Ask Stacey. Or Laura. And tell me you're chain smoking everywhere. Because you just can't be in Paris without a Galouise hanging from your lip. It's waaaay faux pas!!! And I do believe it's Prague-enese. Actually, I think the majority speak English along with 8 other languages. A decidedly "European Virtue" that us Americans are immune to. You know Sarah Crowley and Rachel Kanarowski live there right? At least I think Sarah still does. You walked off your tummy yet? Diareah? Fistulas? Anything "EXCITING" happening?
24th June 2006

and the wine!!!
My God!! THE WINE!!! Are you drinking the wine???? Holy crap!!! To die for. They are very dry no?

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0482s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb